How do i play backups on my phat.

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by tagzard, Sep 11, 2011.

Sep 11, 2011
  1. tagzard
    OP

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    I heard that you can get an external hardrive and put the roms on the root and load the games from their. I don't believe that. So how do i play my ps2 roms on my fat ps2?

    I want it to be free. No modchips or cheatdiscs. Those are expensive.
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Get Free McBoot installed on one of your memory cards. Then everytime your ps2 is booted with that card inserted, it will allow you to run homebrew .elf files. And one of those is Open PS2 Loader. The how to and more details should be trackable in this forum as it was discussed 100 times. But ask if you run into any trouble.
     
  3. justinefremlouw

    Member justinefremlouw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Chi Town
    Country:
    United States
    unless you, by chance, have already own the necessary materials needed to hack the ps2, it's not possible to hack it without procuring some costs.

    Also, it is indeed possible to play ps2 "roms" (actually iso files) from an external HDD, however it is not recommended, because PS2 is limited with USB 1.1 port, so slowdowns will occur.

    Of course, all of these require that you first hack your PS2 (which involves putting a program called FMCB into your memory card), which require you to have either:
    a. a cheatdisk such as AR max, codebreaker, gameshark, etc which allow for usb drive to memory card write access, OR
    b. a swap magic retail disc, OR
    c. a memor32 card, OR
    d. a retail HDL/HDA disc, OR
    e. a retail copy of 007 Agent under fire or 007 from Russia with love.


    The best way to play ps2 iso in your fat ps2 is to uses an internal IDE HDD which requires a PS2 network adapter. The program required for this is OPL or HDL.
    You can also burn the iso and run it through a program called ESR. The quality of the blank DVD is very important, as is how you burn the iso.
    You can also run it through a network or USB drive, but once again, slow downs will occur using these methods.

    OPL, HDL, and ESR is included in FMCB noobie package.
     
  4. tagzard
    OP

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. I need a turtorial. What I do need is 007 from rusia with love or underfire. Luckly I own both of them. So can you give me a link with a turt.

    I don't need a cheatdisc if i have one of those 007 games right?
     
  5. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
  6. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Check Duskye's (Kirbyboy's) profile, he made one.
     
  7. tagzard
    OP

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Ok.
     
  8. DarkShinigami

    Member DarkShinigami #1 strongest Shinigami BANKAI

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,836
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Country:
    United States
    check out freemcboots home pageda link they have a tutorial somewhere there.

    yeah i know this topic is a day old but he may still be searching

    (mod if this is violating i apologize i dont think it violates any rules)
     
  9. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    If you're gonna use one of the disk based exploits, however, you're gonna need a way to hot swap the disk. You could either use a slide tool (idfk what those even are, just know of them), or a PS2 FlipTop mod. What that does is replaces the top half of the shell with one that opens up like a PSX, granting direct access to the disk drive.

    However, you should be able to do just fine by taking the top off of your PS2 and removing the top of the DVD drive. Just, for the love of all that is sacred, do not bump the console. The only thing that will be holding your disk in place is the disk itself...
     
  10. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Just a fyi

    [​IMG]

    That's what they are.
     

Share This Page