Hacking How do I mod this Wii? (Korean)

nicman000

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 27, 2007
Messages
67
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
So I've got a Korean Wii that has already been modded and region changed. I'm not the one who modded it originally so I'm not sure of the specifics of it but it's running 3.2 U.

How do I go about modding this Wii and getting it updated to 4.2 (3?) ?
 

dn_angel000

Phantom User
Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
592
Trophies
0
XP
224
Country
United States
Well if u want it on 4.3 then run an official update! If u want it on 4.2 then use DOP-Mii 2 install it (It will also install the necessary IOS through an Wifi!)
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,970
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,094
Country
Cyprus
download ModMii (link in my signature), then run the ModMii Wizard, answer the questions, tell it that your wii is a virgin (even though its not) in order to rehack your Wii and update all your softmods. When it asks what region your Wii is, answer that it was region changed, when it asks what it was region changed to, tell ModMii that it was changed to USA.

this is gonna for sure be the most straight forward way to mod this wii!
 

techboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,720
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
316
Country
United States
dn_angel000 said:
Well if u want it on 4.3 then run an official update! If u want it on 4.2 then use DOP-Mii 2 install it (It will also install the necessary IOS through an Wifi!)
It's a Korean wii with US firmware...updating officially would brick it with #003.
 

nicman000

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 27, 2007
Messages
67
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Thanks a lot guys. One more question, should I install bootmii and do a NAND backup first?

EDIT: Can Korean Wiis have bootmii installed? If not, is there another type of brick protection?
 

xzxero

♥bong milk does good for the brain♥
Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
3,831
Trophies
0
Age
14
Location
SB
Website
Visit site
XP
332
Country
United States
im sure bootmii can install on all regions, provided the hackmii installer can find a vulnerable IOS.
 

damysteryman

I am too busy IRL these days...
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
1,223
Trophies
1
XP
1,027
Country
Antarctica
nicman000 said:
Thanks a lot guys. One more question, should I install bootmii and do a NAND backup first?

EDIT: Can Korean Wiis have bootmii installed? If not, is there another type of brick protection?
1. YES. DO IT.

2. Yes, but only as IOS. It cannot be installed as boot2 on Korean Wiis, since all Korean Wiis have a non-vulnerable boot1.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: So weird, I know some games on consoles you could like Excite Truck on the Wii that was fun. To...