Hacking How could I find out what IOS a game uses?

koji2009

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
1,193
Trophies
0
XP
197
Country
United States
QUOTE("Stolen from the SNEEK + DI thread") said:
Identifying required IOS for sneek per Wii game.iso

1. Open tmd.bin in a hex editor

2. Look at offset 0x018B.

3. Convert the value from hexadecimal to decimal to obtain the IOS number.
 

Quincy

Your own personal guitarist :3
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
1,609
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Your house
Website
youtek.net
XP
1,247
Country
Netherlands
How would I get to the offset? (I don't use HEX editors )

I tried it in the way on how I thought I'd need to get there but I got out on the number 8.. That IOS doesnt exist
 

CookiesMilk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
252
Trophies
0
XP
136
Country
Malaysia
58673_152151021473269_100000351161948_323140_4490230_n.jpg
 

koji2009

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
1,193
Trophies
0
XP
197
Country
United States
I'm sure there are programs that do it automagically, but I have no clue how. If you are going to use this method you MUST use a hex editor and then use "go to offset" then convert the digit from HEX to DECIMAL.
 

Quincy

Your own personal guitarist :3
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
1,609
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Your house
Website
youtek.net
XP
1,247
Country
Netherlands
koji2009 said:
Quincy said:
It gives me 38 (And converted to TEXT that is 8) and that doesn't exist

Conversion fail... 38 HEX is 56 Decimal. IOS 56 is your answer.
Oii! Thats what I just found out using WIiPartitionBinChanger. But thanks anyways. Now a second question: Would a game blackscreen if the IOS is too old? (Since IOS56 is already installed
 

petspeed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
1,165
Trophies
1
Age
49
XP
1,810
Country
Denmark
38 hex is 56 in decimal, so if you found the correct offset and 38 is the correct value, then the game uses IOS56

hmm... koji2009 beat me...
 

koji2009

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
1,193
Trophies
0
XP
197
Country
United States
It can, yes. Just use Multimod manager (MMM) to download the latest. That said, I can't guarantee that's the reason it's not running, but you can at least rule that out then
wink.gif
 

Quincy

Your own personal guitarist :3
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
1,609
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Your house
Website
youtek.net
XP
1,247
Country
Netherlands
koji2009 said:
It can, yes. Just use Multimod manager (MMM) to download the latest. That said, I can't guarantee that's the reason it's not running, but you can at least rule that out then
wink.gif
I ripped IOS56 off the ISO, and I found out that this is NOT the problem that causes the game to refuse playing. What I did found out is that if I use IOS222-mload with Block IOS Reload off, that my game plays till the Ubisoft logo
 

Quincy

Your own personal guitarist :3
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
1,609
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Your house
Website
youtek.net
XP
1,247
Country
Netherlands
WiiCrazy said:
When you use cios it doesn't matter if actual ios used by the game is installed or not... Naturally, also it doesn't matter which version you got...
I use wanins cIOS all the time, but this game just refuses to boot.
 

Quincy

Your own personal guitarist :3
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2008
Messages
1,609
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Your house
Website
youtek.net
XP
1,247
Country
Netherlands
WiiCrazy said:
Quincy said:
WiiCrazy said:
When you use cios it doesn't matter if actual ios used by the game is installed or not... Naturally, also it doesn't matter which version you got...
I use wanins cIOS all the time, but this game just refuses to boot.

Checked if game uses alt-dol?
Hmm.. No, not yet. It is just a new game lol

Edit: If WiiScrubber shows a discs FS correctly, it is just one dol (main.dol)
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, i don't have one either
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @AcuteBulbasaurappears, A cute bulbasaur appears. :D
    +2
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Psionic Roshambo, The Wii U gamepads are tied to the console's region, so its impossible to find a cheap gamepad that supports your model.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Unless you modify your system, of course, and remove the region check.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, im now by episode 8 of lain
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty can we discuss chrono trigger
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty I like how the game had the middle ages 1000AD, the dark ages 600AD.It was great seeing the post robot apocalypse 2300 like Terminator and enter the matrix. some of mad max and fallout. 2300ad though it could had used more elements instead of just a generic ai uprising. It was a great idea for their judgement day to be 1999 Y2K.

    -great additions if they would have made an expansion or dlc in my opinion would be finding out humans trapped in a matrix -

    a follower having a cyborg character living tissue over metal endoskelleton like terminator, and the synths from fallout
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    4After Zeal fell it would have been good to see more ancient eras. Perhaps Sumeria based in one area, then Egypt based in another area, Greek based in another area, then roman based in another area before the middle ages.---------

    ----between 1000ad and 1999 is a big gap they should have had the age of revolution like the american and French Revolution

    then the cowboyy era in one area of map and the Industrial revolution/age of enlightmentthen a ww1 and ww2 and a cold war era
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    they could have added 75,000 bc like assassins creed. zeal was already establish in 12, 000 bc , soething before the kindom rose
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty they could also add age of dscover, colonialism ect
    +1
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    renaissance
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty what did you think
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty I think glenn (the frog) after becomming human had an affair with the queen
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    so he is the great great great great grandfather of marle @Xdqwerty
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    they made it like Lancelot from king arthur legends
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    just found out i'm now taller than my dad
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @salazarcosplay, sorry i was busy
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty thats completely fine
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @salazarcosplay,
    the ds version added a secret boss reference to chrono cross
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty did you finish watching naruto shippuden and Boruto
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @salazarcosplay, i havent even started lol
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    anyone here?
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: anyone here?