1. TheKawaiiDesu

    OP TheKawaiiDesu Ball of Kawaiiness
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,436
    Country:
    Korea, North
    I just got a 2.1.0-4J 3DS, and I want to update it to 9.2 (for obvious reasons).
    So, after dumping the OTP and making a NAND backup using Decrypt9, I updated it to 5.1 using a You-Kai Watch cart. Then, I installed RXTools 2.5.2, injected FBI into H&S, and installed SysUpdater. BUT, when I try to launch RXTools DevMode, the 3DS get stuck on a black screen (RXMode works fine).
    After searching a little, apparently someone had the same problem as me, and he solved it by downgrading to 4.5 with the Gateway Launcher. So I downloaded the correct file, launched GW, downgraded, and... FATAL ERROR 0000100 (or something) at the end. Probably the scariest thing that ever happened to me.
    Fortunately, it restored my NAND backup (so no brick, yay!), and after some google searching, this error occurs when the console has only been updated with cart. The thing is, I didn't find any way to solve the problem... Some suggest to download an update pack and to install the CIAs with FBI / BBM and then retry, but that doesn't seem like a really safe method (I did the same long ago on my N3DS emuNAND, that bricked it)...

    So, is there any way to update my 3DS?
    Thanks!
     
  2. bi388

    bi388 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    United States
    I think you can update it to 10.6 online and then downgrade if you have a hardmod. Besides that you can try sysupdater with cias
     
  3. TheKawaiiDesu

    OP TheKawaiiDesu Ball of Kawaiiness
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,436
    Country:
    Korea, North
    Well, the thing is, I can install the SysUpdater CIA, but I can't launch RX DevMode... In standard mode, it will brick :/
     
  4. bi388

    bi388 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    United States
    Use a hardmod to downgrade from 10.6 I guess
     
  5. Bubsy Bobcat

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,505
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    Get a copy of a game which has a 4.x - 9.2 update on it. There's a database online somewhere. Do NOT update to 10.6 if you don't want to do a hardmod!
     
  6. misterb98

    misterb98 Moral Gateway User. Wat.
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    There aren't any Japanese cartridge games (to my knowledge) with 9.0 - 9.2 on them.

    You might want to go and use http://3dsdb.com/ to look for one with 4.X on it, and then use the old MSET exploit for rxTools. From there, if you so desire, you could also instead use sysUpdater to go to 9.2
     
  7. PaiiNSteven

    PaiiNSteven Newbie

    They'res four games with the 9.2 update.
    One is Super Smash Bros (U), and the other is Tomodachi Life (E). They'res also two other European games, which are two * mama games.
     
  8. Arkansaw

    Arkansaw GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    993
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    You need to upgrade the browser to a high enough version for the gateway downgrade to work as expected. Back then it was easy enough to grab the exact cias for 6.x or 8.x and install them while in GW sysnand mode. Now maybe 9.2 is easier to find and verify
     
  9. Arubaro

    Arubaro Soulspace Guardian
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    I think it doesn't have to be a 9.2 cartridge, just a <=10.3 and some cubic ninja or oothax (or even some flashcard + cn? I don't know if they work on that version).
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2016
  10. TheVinAnator

    TheVinAnator GBATemp's Greatest Vin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    3,794
    Country:
    Canada
    i believe in sysupdater you can also update so as long as you download 9.2 cia files which i can link too if needed you should be able to without a problem although keep your nand handy because im only 99% sure because i know you can update to a certain firmware i guess
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - update,