Homebrew Wii-TO-XBOX360 Wireless

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kornychaos, Oct 9, 2008.

Oct 9, 2008
  1. kornychaos
    OP

    Member kornychaos Organized.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    Hey,

    I was wondering if there was a way to use the wireless from my Nintendo Wii to give wireless to my XBOX 360 via USB to USB connection & homebrew.
    They currently reside next to each other, and seeing as how the 360 Wi-Fi dongle is expensive, I'd rather run a cord from console to console.

    Basically, is this even possible, even if it's not in the near future..
     
  2. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    would be ideal, but i don't think there is a way, why don't you just use a pc router with both your consoles.
     
  3. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I am not sure if it is possible to connect the consoles. They use totally different file structures for all the stuff such as videos and music.
    That said, RARE did manage to get the DS to connect to the 360 for Viva Pinata: Pocket Paradise but it was pulled while still in production, so I guess it is possible but then again, they would have access to information that the homebrew scene have yet to find out.
    If it is possible for the DS then I am sure that it was possible for the wii as it is a fair bit more powerful in regards to wireless conectivity.
     
  4. felix123

    Member felix123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    New Zealand
    So you want to switch on the Wii and 360, set the TV input to the Wii, start the wireless connection homebrew on the Wii, go back to the 360, start the wireless connection homebrew on the 360, and then start gaming?

    Besides, you have to turn either the Wii or the 360 from a USB host into a USB device.

    Wouldn't it be easier just buy the thing?
     
  5. Zantetsu

    Newcomer Zantetsu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    I think he wants to use his wii to pick up the wireless signal for his 360 so he doesn't have to use Ethernet cords...
     
  6. andreq

    Member andreq GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    Canada
    If you dont want to spend $100 on the wireless adapter... get a "cheap" wireless router which support DD-WRT (or similar) and use the client mode.



    Wifi -- - -- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Wifi router with DD-WRT in client mode -----------ETHERNET------------ Xbox 360


    USB to USB connection is slower than Ethernet... Maybe I'm wrong, but the Xbox 360 still don't have homebrew (or maybe on older system version??)... your basicly asking for the moon [​IMG]
     
  7. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think this is possibly the most retarded thing I've ever heard.
     
  8. kornychaos
    OP

    Member kornychaos Organized.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    Mhmm, you would be correct in that fact. I can hook up my 360 via ethernet or buy the wireless dongle, but given that my Wii is right next to my 360 and has Wi-Fi enabled already (Connect24 is running so no need to full power on the Wii..)

    I'd rather have homebrew that can power down the Wii and place it into Connect24 mode, but also make the Wii used as a Wi-Fi USB hotspot which can connect to the 360. Therefore, connect a double-ended USB cable from the Wii TO 360.

    Would save me $100 and not have an ethernet cord dragging across my floor.
    - The 360 already has wireless functionality (controllers) and Wi-Fi (with extra hardware for USB)..

    @ Richy Freeway: Did you want to be congratulated or something?

    EDIT: I have a router, just don't want to use a cord dragging from it to the 360. I'd just like to know if this is homebrew possible.
     
  9. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    I don't think such a thing exists, in a working form anyway.
     
  10. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not going to happen.
     
  11. gundalf

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    @kornychaos
    You have ever heard of Wii Homebrew that runs in the suspend mode?
    I mean even doing this would be like an Rube Goldberg Machine(in this case software) xD
     
  12. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think this is possible but even if it was it would take far too long and you would be better off just buying the wireless adaptor for the 360.
     
  13. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    It does exist, sometimes is used to conect a Mac to another Mac and share info
     
  14. andreq

    Member andreq GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    Canada

    Look here :

    http://www.trust.com/products/product_detail.aspx?item=14548

    That kind of cable cost about $25-$30...

    Why can't you ditch about $30 on a good Wireless router(dd-wrt compatible) and place it next to your xbox 360 with a little 6inch ethernet cable... how on earth could can this be more complex than buying a cable of the same price and coding way to many line of code for something so simple [​IMG]
     
  15. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, agreed, that was a little bit of a silly thing to say.
    Man, why on Earth is it so expensive though?
     
  16. kornychaos
    OP

    Member kornychaos Organized.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, gotcha, well, thanks guys for answering my question (minus one person)!
    Just for the record, the reason being, I already own a usb-usb cable, so I was trying to use the tools I already had (minus the homebrew hotspot).

    Guess for now I'll go buy that router or just continue running the ethernet cord across the room, much appreciation!
     

Share This Page