Homebrew Programming... And a game?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by BlaineGorzoch, Mar 24, 2012.

1. BlaineGorzoch
    OP

BlaineGorzoch Newbie

Newcomer
    Mar 24, 2012
    Hey guys :D

I've surfed around the forums before, but I never signed up. So basically, I'm a complete newbie. :P

Anyways, I'm interested in learning programming. (I don't really know anything at all.) I've been playing Fire Emblem games recently, and the DS one really isn't good compared to the others. I thought a good time-waster would be making a new Fire Emblem game for the DS, one with the classic GBA graphics and touch capabilities maybe?

I don't really know if I should (or if I could.:P) If I did look into it would anyone be interested?

Thanks again. :D

2. Rydian

Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    While that's a good long-term goal, it's going to take a lot of work before you can do that. I'm talking months at the least, before you can make a game like that from scratchon a system like the DS. Still willing?

3. BlaineGorzoch
    OP

BlaineGorzoch Newbie

Newcomer
    Mar 24, 2012
    Yeah, I'm going to have to learn a few smaller games, but I have a lot of extra time on my hands :P

4. Rydian

Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

Feb 4, 2010
    United States
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
  5. BlaineGorzoch
    OP

BlaineGorzoch Newbie

Newcomer
    Mar 24, 2012

What do you recommend I start with?

6. Foxi4

Foxi4 On the hunt...

Global Moderator
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    *A teardrop gathers in my eye* I feel honoured to be mentioned. :lol:

For now the guide only contains C-Specific functions, so wherever you start is fine. We're still some chapters away until we tackle the DS-Specific functionality.

7. BlaineGorzoch
    OP

BlaineGorzoch Newbie

Newcomer
    Mar 24, 2012
    OK, thanks. You guys are a real help :D