Homebrew Channel cannot install; Firmware 3.2U

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Momotombo, Nov 18, 2008.

Nov 18, 2008
  1. Momotombo
    OP

    Newcomer Momotombo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I'm a novice to a lot of this and I've been trying to install the newest homebrew channel so I can install the required programs for the backup loader. Problem is, though I seem to have the required firmware, the thing won't install. And I can't regress back to the old homebrew channel no matter what I try, it just tries to install the new one. I didn't even know I had the install files before.

    Anyway, I have some screenshots of what's showing up on my Wii if it helps. Please help me fix this. Thanks.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     


  2. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    just install IOS21 via wad manager and you should be good to go
     
  3. Momotombo
    OP

    Newcomer Momotombo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Can you tell me where to find the IOS21 install?
     
  4. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Use Wii File Update Extractor to extract from a disc ... or...

    Google it.

    The filename is IOS21-64-v514.wad
     
  5. Momotombo
    OP

    Newcomer Momotombo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Will do.
     
  6. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    wait... you don't have the homebrew channel installed at all anymore?
     
  7. Momotombo
    OP

    Newcomer Momotombo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Apparently not. I have the wad installer/uninstaller and the manager, I think.
     
  8. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    use cios downgrader v1.0 and re install 3.2u , you should be fine , somehow you corrupted ios21 so that will fix it .
     
  9. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Out of curiosity, if one renames a wad (ie. a.wad to b.wad) will that cause any problems?
     
  10. Momotombo
    OP

    Newcomer Momotombo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Where can I find 3.2u, or do I need to Google that too? And cIOS downgrader 1.0, if you're feeling generous.
     
  11. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    What you are looking for is Custom IOS Downgrader 1.1 I believe, and that is the only thing you need to downgrade versions. I think you do need wifi for it though.

    Good luck finding it [​IMG]
     
  12. Momotombo
    OP

    Newcomer Momotombo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, thanks.
     
  13. Momotombo
    OP

    Newcomer Momotombo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, new problem. It stays on this screen, and doesn't move when I try to use the twilight hack. I'm trying to run the cIOS installer. All I did was put it in the root of the SD card, rename it to boot.elf (actually, it was already named), and ran the twilight hack. I can't run the homebrew channel without doing this, and I can't think of any other solutions. Please help. It's been there for about fifteen minutes, so obviously it's not gonna work.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Um. instead maybe you can load a WAD manager, then run Custom IOS downgrader to install 3.2 or that IOS21 if you found it or...?

    name a WAD installer Boot.dol and but it in the root. Would work, no?
     
  15. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    try reformatting your SD card and copy boot.elf to it first then every other file. I had a problem myself and for some reason that fixedit, in addition to using the official sd formatter tool at http://www.sdcard.org/consumers/formatter/

    Let me know if that fixes it
     
  16. Momotombo
    OP

    Newcomer Momotombo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the thing is, the custom IOS downgrader is a dol file, so how would running the wad manager do any good?

    Also, every time I try to run the wad manager, I just get a black screen saying "This channel can't be used." I have no idea why the hell it'd be saying that.
     
  17. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    so why not change the Custom IOS downgrader to boot.dol and put it on the root?

    Maybe let someone else confirm but I dont see why it wouldnt work?
     
  18. Momotombo
    OP

    Newcomer Momotombo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Well, that's exactly what I'm doing. I renamed it to boot.dol, put it in the root, and ran the twilight hack. And it's stuck at that screen.
     
  19. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry bud misunderstood you then. Have you tried wad manager to just install IOS21 then HBC?
     
  20. Momotombo
    OP

    Newcomer Momotombo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
     

Share This Page