Homebrew Beginner needing help

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Jamstruth, Sep 27, 2009.

Sep 27, 2009
  1. Jamstruth
    OP

Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

United Kingdom
    Trying to learn how to code some simple applications for the DS (never used C++ or whatever language it is so a complete beginner) and have been following this simple tutorial here but am having a small bit of trouble.

I have devkitarm etc. installed with programmers notepad and have written this code
    CODE// Video Start code

videosetmode (mode_FB0);

vramsetbankA(vram_a_lcd);

// Shape Size variables

static int shape_width = 10;
    static int shape+height = 10;

//Drawing Shape Code
    void draw_shape(int x, int y, uint16* buffer, uint16 color)
    {
    buffer += y * screen_width + x;
    for (int i = 0; i < shape_height; ++i) {
    uint16* line = buffer + (screen_width * i);
    for(int j = 0; j < shape_width; ++j) {
    *line++ = color;
    }
    }
    }

Which I believe is correct and will draw a simple square (although I have just realised there is no color code in there, can anyone tell me where to put it?) but I can't figure out how to compile and test this file in an emulator. It is saved as a...well windows just says "file" and has no "makefile" beside it to let me compile the bugger...help please?

2. monkat

Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

United States
    Well yes I can help you!
    *----Gets Hopes Up----*

Switch to using MicroLuaDS - it's much easier on beginners...
    but seriously, (even though the above was serious...), your first programming experience probably shouldn't be on the DS (or any gaming system for that matter)!
    Take baby steps! Every programmer had to go through hello world in their terminal - so do you!
    But glad to see another programmer amongst us [​IMG]

3. Jamstruth
    OP

Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

United Kingdom