High Ping in Valve games

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Delta517, Oct 3, 2010.

Oct 3, 2010

High Ping in Valve games by Delta517 at 2:57 PM (3,991 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    Hi! [​IMG]

    I'm having some trouble with high pings in Valve games (CS:S, TF2...etc). I don't really know why the ping is so high. In other games like MW2, LoL i get like 50 in ping.
    Somebody know a solution? It's only in the games Valve has made, so it has to be something there. [​IMG]
     


  2. 0ddity

    Member 0ddity GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Before we get into rates and router stuff, we should check something simple. Where are the servers located that you are connecting to? If you have the server filter set for US servers, you are going to get bad pings. Try to find any Norwegian, German, French, UK etc servers and see if there's still a problem. The closer the server is to your location the better your ping will be.
     
  3. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    The servers are showing that I'm getting like 40 ping, but when I enter it I get 400? [​IMG]

    Seems like it's pretty unstable. [​IMG]
     
  4. 0ddity

    Member 0ddity GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Try bypassing your router, and plugging your computer straight into the modem (unless it's a combo router/modem.) If it still lags, it could be an issue on your computer or modem, such as firewall, closed ports, etc.
     
  5. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    Are your rates the same as the servers?
     
  6. 0ddity

    Member 0ddity GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Using default rates won't cause lag across all Valve games and all servers.
     
  7. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    What are your connection settings set to in Steam's settings?
     
  8. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    I'll try opening some ports now to check. [​IMG]

    Whats the default Rate again? [​IMG]
     
  9. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    So I opened up some ports, and tried to join a Swedish Server. It shows that I only get around 50ping, but when I join I get around 200 again. [​IMG]

    Please help me! This issue is the main reason I quit playing TF2. [​IMG]
     
  10. 0ddity

    Member 0ddity GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you try bypassing your router by plugging straight into the modem?
     
  11. Eighteen

    Member Eighteen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Yeah..
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Download and Install Leatrix latency fix
    http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info...LatencyFix.html (download button at top right)

    Its made for WoW, but it works on all online games, I played AioN and killed my ms from 300 ~ 500 to 50 ~ 90.

    just click the install icon and it asks you to reboot, do so, and after the reboot double click the checker if it is installed correctly.
     
  12. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    Can't really try that now, since I'm not the only one using it right now. If I'm going to try, I have to be alone home. [​IMG]
     
  13. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That could be your very problem - that you're on the only one using it. If one person in a network is running torrents, that could cause high/unstable pings for everybody else on the network. In my expereience, such cases tends to go in pulses (a moment of relatively normal traffic, then a moment of very slow traffic, rince and repeat).

    Or it could be either the router or the modem getting old or have some bad settings somewhere.
     
  14. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    Thanks! It actually lowered my ping alot! [​IMG] Usually had around 400, but now I'm having 80-150. [​IMG]

    But I still think there is a way to lower it now, but I think it's okay now. [​IMG]
     
  15. Eighteen

    Member Eighteen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Yeah..
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yay I helped!!! [​IMG]

    ..I mean, glad you fixed most of the problem 'n stuff [​IMG]
     
  16. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    I would have given you a +rep if I could (hint, hint?). [​IMG]

    Anyways, after a playing 10min the ping went down to 40ping. [​IMG]
     
  17. updowners

    Member updowners lurklurklurk

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,323
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you sure your server list doesn't keep refreshing while ingame? This used to be a gigantic problem for while playing TF2 since I kept warping everywhere throughout the map.
     
  18. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    It works?! I might try it!
     
  19. Eighteen

    Member Eighteen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Yeah..
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeeaahhh!! [​IMG] +REP meee [​IMG], More REP for Eighteen (me) [​IMG]
     
  20. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Hey.. I want to use this since the lowest I can get most of the time is 200 ping [​IMG]
    Are there any downsides I can look out for?
     

Share This Page