Hey PS2 Emulating Experts

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Majorami, Dec 24, 2011.

Dec 24, 2011

Hey PS2 Emulating Experts by Majorami at 6:49 PM (1,102 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Majorami
    OP

    Banned Majorami Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    What Laptop should I get thats excellent at emulating top-tier PS2 games. Obviously PS2 emulation is never a perfect, sound science, but it seems the better equipped your hardware, the more better the emulation.

    Yeah I already got a PS2, but I'm in need/want of a new computer, and I've been most interested in getting a laptop that can emulate my faves if I ever happen to go on a trip.

    My favorite desktop brand is HP (Although they have bad customer service), but I don't have a favorite Laptop brand/preference.

    I much prefer to go on a sight and buy a pre-built/customizable machine, rather than build a laptop from scratch. I rather pay a hundred or two dollars extra to avoid all the research/work I'll be doing to make one.

    If possible, try to give me models that have/support a multi-input touch screen as I wanna have atleast some touch functions in preparation of Win8


    Games I'm most interested in emulating are pretty much Kingdom Hearts, Final Fantasy XII, Need for Speed, Dark Cloud 2, Okamiden, and a whole mess I'm forgetting about.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If you want PS2-emulating specs and a touch screen, are you prepared to shell out the ass for it?
     
  3. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Newer PCSX2 emulator builds support Quad-Core processors, so you might want to consider that as well.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well, "support" doesn't necessarily mean "get a big boost from", I've checked it out and the boost isn't that big. With a laptop quad-core processors are often clocked lower, so a faster dual-core will be more readily available.
     
  5. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    That's true. It was big enough a jump for me to notice, of course the difference in scenarios is that I already had this computer so it was convenient, while he's looking into a computer so he may get the better end off of a Dual-Core and the right specs in other areas.
     
  6. Saken

    Member Saken GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    Australia
    Mate for emulating the PS2 with PCSX2, you will need more power than that from a laptop.
    It's really CPU hungry, and the CPUs in laptops suck ass (compared to desktops).
    Good luck.
    I can play Kingdom Hearts in full HD(as in 6x native res) on my desktop at full speed, but it's because the specs of it are pretty high end (i7 2600k, 2 x GTX 570 etc.)
    Also i like it better on the PC than playing it on the PS2. The higher resolution makes it look so good.

    And by the way, buying outright from shops is a huge rip off, especially laptops.
    Instead of wasting all that money on a laptop with bogus specs, get a desktop for the same price with monster specs.
    It's not worth it, you won't be able to emulate well with a laptop.
     
  7. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    Wut it has? Is it automatically enabled? If not. Mind telling me how >.
     
  8. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
     
  9. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
     
  10. JasmineJewelThie

    Newcomer JasmineJewelThie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    its in the speedhack options
     
  11. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    Uh no?
     
  12. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    This is the newest unofficial version, it should be there: http://www.emucr.com/2011/12/pcsx2-svn-r5015.html

    EDITED: There's a newer version, just replaced the link.
    EDITED 2:...There's a newer...newer version, also from today.
     
  13. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    Wrogn topic...


    EDIT:
    Downloading .3

    EDIT2:
    So where is that tickable box
     
  14. JasmineJewelThie

    Newcomer JasmineJewelThie Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    im using .4942(svn) and its config > emulation settings > speedhacks......after you enable speedhacks click on MTVU and there you go
     
  15. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
     
  16. Godamit

    Member Godamit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    Australia
    You don't need a system such as that for full speed. I have the i5 2500K, a single GTX 560 Ti and 8GB RAM, running KH in full HD (6x native) with a framerate which sticks very closely to the 50FPS mark (ie, no noticeable lag).
     
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If it's only quad core support, i wonder how much you gain from quad core to dual core with hyperthreading. Those recent dual cores can handle 4 threads at the same time, but not as fast a real quad core. And a quad core of those can handle 8 threads at the same time, if the emu only supports 4 threads, those recent processors are not used fully.
     
  18. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
     

Share This Page