Help :(

Discussion in 'Android' started by LightyKD, Dec 30, 2011.

Dec 30, 2011

Help :( by LightyKD at 4:54 AM (836 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a app or APK patcher I can use to tell certain apps to find their SD data files somewhere else? I have a awkward situation on my tablet where it's reading a partition of my internal memory as the "SD Card and it's reading my actual physical external SD card as a folder within the "SD Card" partition of the internal storage.

    ...WOW that's a mouthful. But yeah, I could use some help with this one because I have plenty of space (technically) but the file structure is so mucked up that I have to switch around folders whenever I want to play certain games and it's not fun. [​IMG] Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
     
  2. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What's your tablet?

    For example, on my Galaxy S II, I have internal storage which is the "sdcard" folder, and access to the physical microSD card is through the "external_sd" shortcut. Is it similar?
     
  3. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    YES! And I need a way around that for my games. At least some way to point my games to the "external_sd" shortcut. I have a gig SD card that isnt properly being used :( BTW my tablet is the "Vimicro: Wopad V7+". Apparently it was modeled after the Galaxy Tab 7"
     
  4. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    What sort of games are you taking about? are you talking about games that require downloading stuff on sd to play or just regular big sized games .
     
  5. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    ALL Gameloft games require the "App on device + Files on SD" setup. That means Splinter Cell, Nova 1 & 2, Shadow Guardian, Modern Combat 1, 2 & 3 and many many others. Also EA and few other companies use this setup. Dead Space, Need for Speed and Sims. I have plenty of games but at the moment I have to shift folders around to play certain games. It's a pain.
     
  6. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States

    So... Proto.... what's your solution around that issue on the "Galaxy S II"? I remember reading somewhere about a patcher for a phone with a similar situation but I'm just stumped. This issue is the only thing keeping me from fully enjoying my tablet.
     
  7. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Here you go http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1129134 I think that's waht youwere talking about.
     
  8. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Actually I was just looking at that but I cant get the patcher to run on my Windows 8 laptop. If I could send a few APK's to someone (private message obviously) for them to patch for and send back to me I would be very grateful!
     
  9. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wanted to confirm that that was what you were referring to; I'm afraid I don't have a solution as I've never needed to look (I have plenty of internal memory). However if you do find an adequate fix then I can add it to my knowledge base.
     
  10. gregor1997

    Newcomer gregor1997 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Try this app if it works on your device https://market.android.com/details?id=com.slf.ListglApp
     
  11. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks gregor. I have the app installed to my tablet but I need to figure out how to roo my tablet now (Gingerbreak did not work :( ) -also, if anyone would be willing to help me do some testing and grab the patcher The_Dragons_Master_F linked to earlier, I can provide a APK file and I would be very grateful.
     
  12. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    Well derp, send it this way.
     
  13. LightyKD
    OP

    Member LightyKD Future CEO of OUYA Inc.

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,354
    Location:
    Angel Grove, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Send what your way? The patcher and a APK file? If that's the case I'll make a rar and send it to you.
     
  14. ThePowerOutage

    Member ThePowerOutage The Lord of the Flyes

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Vallhallah
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    just the apk, i already downloaded the patcher
     

Share This Page