help with cso files

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by don_eno, Mar 19, 2010.

Mar 19, 2010

help with cso files by don_eno at 4:31 PM (1,134 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. don_eno
    OP

    Member don_eno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Greece
    my psp doesn't play cso files but play iso files fine. how can i make cso files iso files or a way to play cso files with my psp
     
  2. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What do you mean "It doesn't play them" A little bit more description would help to solve the problem, are you getting a error or what?
     
  3. uiaad

    Newcomer uiaad Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It would also help if you told us what psp your using ( 1000, 2000, 3000 ) and what CFW your using
     
  4. Lelouch

    Member Lelouch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Petersburg, AK
    Country:
    United States
    Could also be a bad dump, corrupt download or something. Did you compress the iso's yourself?
     
  5. don_eno
    OP

    Member don_eno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Greece
    i have a psp 1000 and when i try to load a cso file it says the game could not be started (80020148). the guy who sold this to me said that it can only play iso files
     
  6. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which CFW are you running? Most if not all CFWs will run both .iso and .cso files. You can check the firmware version in System Information.
     
  7. don_eno
    OP

    Member don_eno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Greece
    5.50 gen-c(full) nickname psp321
     
  8. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Haha, you don't need to tell us your nickname. That's temporary CFW, so you're using a PSP 2000 or 3000?
     
  9. don_eno
    OP

    Member don_eno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Greece
    i'm sure that its not a 3000 because i had one so propably a 2000
     
  10. Occult Tech

    Newcomer Occult Tech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Download YACC and turn convert them from CSO to ISO, and see if they run.
     
  11. chriso

    Newcomer chriso Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    United States
    It's one of the following -

    1. Either the .cso is corrupt or the rip by the uploader was bad and you need to download again.

    2. Some .iso's don't run properly as compressed .cso's so it needs to be converted back to .iso through a program such as PSP Compressor.

    3. Change the driver mode on you psp by hitting the select button and choose between m33, Sony NP9550, or OE isofs.

    4. In a rare case, your firmware might've been corrupt while updating - if all of the above fail, try updating your firmware.
     
  12. don_eno
    OP

    Member don_eno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Greece
    it worked
     
  13. don_eno
    OP

    Member don_eno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Greece
    thank you all for your help.
    one last question the guy who sold this to me said that i wont be able to play some of the newest games with this firmare but if i upgrade it i can't play some of the old games. is it true?
     
  14. Tear

    Newcomer Tear Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but the last custom firmware by gen has an internal decrypter, and it may occur some errors with old games.
    I tried to play Riviera on my PSP 3000 with gen-c and it didn't work until I patch it with eboot exchanger v2.8
     

Share This Page