Help with buying a computer.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Ikki, Aug 11, 2011.

Aug 11, 2011

Help with buying a computer. by Ikki at 11:20 AM (873 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Ikki
    OP

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    So, sup!

    The thing is, my birthday is soon and I'm going to get a new PC with the money I had saved for my 3DS + some help from my mother.
    I'm between a PC with an Intel i5 2500 processor and one with an Intel i7 2600. Both have the same general specifications except for the processor. One is $475 and the other one is $585

    My question is, is the processor step up worth the 100 bucks?


    Also, which graphics card should I get? I'm putting 1GB as a top since I don't really want a beast gaming computer, I want something that can handle what's out there and will handle some of the stuff to come.


    Thanks in advance, wub ya [​IMG]
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In short, the difference between the 2500 and 2600 is that the i7-2600 has HyperThreading (4 physical cores, 4 logical cores) whilst the i5-2500 does not (only 4 physical cores).

    "1GB" in VRAM says nothing at all about how powerful the graphics card is. First check how powerful the power supply is, then look into the HD 5770 and GTX550 as a minimum (at least, if your budget allows... They're both lower mid-ranged graphics cards). If you can afford it, go for a HD6850 or GTX 560 Ti, which are very good mid-ranged graphics cards.
     
  3. tiggerlator

    Member tiggerlator GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want a card to handle some of the stuff to come, get a card with 2gb of ram. There is also a k version of both the 2500 and 2600 which has a unlocked multiplier for easier overclocking(making the cpu run faster)
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not many prebuilt PCs under $1000 will offer parts that allow for over clocking. In fact, they'll often use stock heatsink, budget motherboard, and a crappy case. Over clocking in that environment will only fry something.
     
  5. Ikki
    OP

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Thanks, guys.
    I decided I'm going AMD

    CPU: Phenom II x6 1090T
    Mobo: ASUS M4A78LT-M
    RAM: DDR3 4GB (1333)
    PSU: Real 600w
    Graphics Card: Ati Radeon HD5750
    Hard Drive: 500GB SATA

    Should I worry about the budget motherboard or will I be fine?
     
  6. Xoo00o0o0o

    Member Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    IMO I would go for a 5770 not a 5750, not a huge difference but not much more expensive either
     
  7. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    the PSU sounds questionable . doesn't really sound like reliable brand and isn't once i've heard of in my life .
     
  8. Ikki
    OP

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Oh it's not a brand. Some PSUs say they give x amount of wattage and it actually gives less.
    We call it real when it actually gives what it says it gives.
     
  9. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    question , is this computer pre-made or is someone gathering the parts to make a computer ?

    if it's premade by a company , then you don't need to worry that much . i have old Dells [Optiplex GX280 and a Precision xxxx .] that are at least 3 years old and are still working . the PSUs aren't a problem . i just don't really remember what model the Precision is xD
     
  10. Ikki
    OP

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    I tell the parts, they put it together.
     
  11. meornot0

    Member meornot0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    get the 1055t and oc it to 1090t specs, its very easy with that cpu.
    Use the 20$ you save to upgrade the gpu to an amd 6850, is 140 at newegg.
    Also, make sure you get the psu from a reputable company, we don't want any housefires, do we??
    Everything else seems fine.

    Edit: and make sure the reviews on your mobo are good.
     
  12. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    if you are to buy the M4A78LT-M, you should buy the M5A78L-M LX, it support the next generation of amd cpu and it's cheaper (on newegg)

    if you are looking for a good psu and case combo, you can have a look at the Antec VSK2450.
    A good 450w psu is more than enough for your spec.

    Also, unless you're going to use programs that scales well across with multiple core (more than 4) or heavy multi-tasking, the phenom 955 will be as fast as the 1090.
     
  13. Ikki
    OP

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Alrighty, the mobo is okay judging by the reviews I found.

    The final thing is gonna be

    AMD Phenom x6 1055t
    RAM 4GB DDR3 (Kingston)
    500GB Hard Drive
    ASUS M4A78LT-M
    Sentey BX1 Case
    ATI HD5670 1GB DDR5
    700w PSU


    I'm probably changing the PSU for one with lower wattage, I think that's pretty overkill.

    Thanks again for the tips
     
  14. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
  15. meornot0

    Member meornot0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    DONT get the 5670 gfx card.

    It is a last generation low end gfx card.

    Get at least a 6790 for it to last several years.
     
  16. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    It may be okay but get the M5 variant for god sake, it's the same price and it's compatible with the next generation of amd cpu which will have up to 10 cores, also a second line of amd cpu with up to 12 cores is supposed to come out during 2012 and should be compatible with the M5 board.
    Both M4 and M5 comes with the same socket, chipset and feature
     
  17. Ikki
    OP

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    It is a good 700w actually.

    And about the mobo, I'll check if they got the M5 variant in stock.

    I don't think I'll go 10x unless I really have to though.
     
  18. Dangy

    Member Dangy Twisting Your Mind & Smashing Your Dreams

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,391
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard the same thing. I used to be a big AMD fan, but I like Intel a bit more now.
     
  19. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    more or less true,
    if you look at this firs benchmark, you'll see the phenom x6 1190t between a core 2 quad q9550 and a core 2 duo E8500
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/2
    While in this benchmark, the phenom x6 1190t sits between a core i5 2400 and a core i7 920 ( and is 20$ cheaper than the said i5)
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/4

    The reason: in the first benchmark,the score depended on the pure speed of a core, multiple core doesn't add anything to the score, In the second benchmark however the number of core has a serious impact on the score.

    In real life, the same kind of problem arise, some software only depend on the processor speed while other software will take advantage of a higher number of core. Usually, when it comes to gaming (setting aside the fact that games are bottlenecked by the gpu and that either cpu will give the same result), core speed is more important than core count. If doing some video editing/encoding, core count is as important as core speed.
     

Share This Page