Homebrew Help with Baten Kaitos

FoolishDreamer

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
197
Country
United States
Hi everyone, I'm trying to play this awesome game on my softmodded Wii but when I load it all the subtitles are replaced with some strange @@[email protected]@... Why? This is my second time trying to burning it and grabbing the iso from a different source but it's still all I get!
Am I doing something wrong?

I already have the mios patcher, I played other GC games before and nothing like this happened. Also I'm using NeoGamma R7 and burning the iso like always.
 

prowler

Sony
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
9,475
Trophies
0
Location
Ragol
XP
3,294
Country
Zimbabwe
FoolishDreamer said:
Hi everyone, I'm trying to play this awesome game on my softmodded Wii but when I load it all the subtitles are replaced with some strange @@[email protected]@... Why? This is my second time trying to burning it and grabbing the iso from a different source but it's still all I get!
Am I doing something wrong?

I already have the mios patcher, I played other GC games before and nothing like this happened. Also I'm using NeoGamma R7 and burning the iso like always.

This is one of the games that can not be played on the Wii, it's all buggy.
But that was back when i was downloading GC, i was gutted
mad.gif
 

Edgedancer

Director of Moon based operations
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2006
Messages
2,633
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Canberra
Website
Visit site
XP
483
Country
Which game are you talking about. Origins or Eternal Wings and the Lost Ocean. I know that they both work with a modchip so you will either have to get on of them or simply buy the game, and trust me, they are worth spending money on to play.
 

Edgedancer

Director of Moon based operations
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2006
Messages
2,633
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Canberra
Website
Visit site
XP
483
Country
Finally. I haven't really seen anyone else as a major fan of the series. It has possibly one of the best plot-twists I have seen in a game.
 

JoseBove

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 12, 2003
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Website
www.consoles-portables.com
XP
207
Country
France
I don't really care about the scenario, I'm actually rather pissed whenever a game wants to have a story and turns an hour of playing into 20 minutes of actual playing and 40 minutes of cutscenes and reading dialogues. But baten kaitos has one of the best RPG gameplay ever, it's a shame the series is kind of dead, because if it had been receiving better exposure, it would have been right up there with the greatest RPG series of all time.
 

justmike

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
330
Trophies
0
XP
338
Country
Australia
Yes! I love this series!! Shame Australia never got part 2 of the series. I just ordered it. Own both games, along with Tales for GC! Buy them, worth it!!
 

MaGnUmKiLLa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
157
Trophies
0
Location
United States
XP
384
Country
United States
So, maybe you guys could answer his question without having a nerdgasm at the mention of the game's title. Is there a way to get it to work with a soft modded wii? The compatibility list says that both Baten Kaitos games work just fine.
 

woodoste

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
72
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
180
Country
Italy
It happens when you run a US copy on a PAL Gamecube which has not the main language set to english.
I changed the language from italian to english and subtitles were OK.

I got the same problem on the Wii, I tried that trick but it doesn't work on Wii :/

I'm using an orginal copy, if you own a backup try launching NEogamma and tforce english language.
 

Edgedancer

Director of Moon based operations
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2006
Messages
2,633
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Canberra
Website
Visit site
XP
483
Country
MaGnUmKiLLa said:
So, maybe you guys could answer his question without having a nerdgasm at the mention of the game's title. Is there a way to get it to work with a soft modded wii? The compatibility list says that both Baten Kaitos games work just fine.
Mate, if you will look, I actually asked a question that would be useful in answering his question. Dont get all high-and-mighty because he doesn't answer my question.
 

resincake

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2009
Messages
164
Trophies
0
XP
53
Country
MaGnUmKiLLa said:
So, maybe you guys could answer his question without having a nerdgasm at the mention of the game's title. Is there a way to get it to work with a soft modded wii? The compatibility list says that both Baten Kaitos games work just fine.

There is a way to get this and the second game working on a softmodded wii. I have a softmod wii and have completed both without problems, using GC Backup loader 0.2.

You need to search for a program called FSTFIX . (use google) then workout how to run it via commandline and enable all options and run the Baten Kaitos .ISO file through it(remember to use all options, and you will get a 3gb .iso file for each disc). This, when burned will now work. I have also used this trick on Sphinx & the Cursed Mummy and also Goldeneye : Rogue Agent.

I have posted this numerous times on many places, I am surprised people do not know of this still. The only game I have had to buy the original foer (gamecube games that is) is the Phantasy Star ones.

Anyhow, good luck, it does work :>
 

ManuLenin

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
France
Hello all!!

after many and many times with ISO I didn't get this game working without freezing. After days of searching on the internet I have found the original game with an awesome price and without doubt I bought it... After a long wait, the game arrived and " @@[email protected]@. " or "@@[email protected]@" appearing instead of the text...all the subtitles and other text are replaced with those words... http://img7.hostingpics.net/pics/875544HNI_0005.jpg

The thing is that game is US version and my wii is PAL. I have tried all the region changer and geckoss thing. Different launcher.. the result is always the same...

is there an another way than using FSTFIX?? I have heard, in another forum, that you have to modify the BIOS...

can somebody help me? I'm a huge fan of RPG and I know that this game can't be missed..

thank you
wacko.gif
 

FoolishDreamer

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
45
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
197
Country
United States
resincake said:
MaGnUmKiLLa said:
So, maybe you guys could answer his question without having a nerdgasm at the mention of the game's title. Is there a way to get it to work with a soft modded wii? The compatibility list says that both Baten Kaitos games work just fine.

There is a way to get this and the second game working on a softmodded wii. I have a softmod wii and have completed both without problems, using GC Backup loader 0.2.

You need to search for a program called FSTFIX . (use google) then workout how to run it via commandline and enable all options and run the Baten Kaitos .ISO file through it(remember to use all options, and you will get a 3gb .iso file for each disc). This, when burned will now work. I have also used this trick on Sphinx & the Cursed Mummy and also Goldeneye : Rogue Agent.

I have posted this numerous times on many places, I am surprised people do not know of this still. The only game I have had to buy the original foer (gamecube games that is) is the Phantasy Star ones.

Anyhow, good luck, it does work :>
Cool, I almost lose hope!
Just to be sure since I don't really really REALLY want another frisbee what size should I choose? Full size or 3 gigs?

OMFG IT'S WORKING!
Fuking awesome, finally I can play this game *____*
Thx man you're the best
biggrin.gif
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://imgur.com/gallery/kUTOYMV