HELP - WiiKey

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by littlecubba, Aug 7, 2009.

Aug 7, 2009

HELP - WiiKey by littlecubba at 4:06 PM (1,332 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. littlecubba
    OP

    Newcomer littlecubba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just updated Wii to fw4.1 via Wan's updater and installed cIOS rev14 and used Trucha restorer...
    and now none of my backups or my originals load... all i get is a blue screen


    or is it that a Wii fitted with a WiiKey can NOT be upgraded...??
     
  2. wiifan420

    Member wiifan420 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    Do you by any chance have preloader installed, or bootmii as boot2?
     
  3. littlecubba
    OP

    Newcomer littlecubba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    neither...
     
  4. wiifan420

    Member wiifan420 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm. What I would do is, install bootmii as boot2 if you can. Make a nand backup in case anything goes wrong. Use wad manager and re install the last system menu you were on before you upgraded to 4.1.
     
  5. littlecubba
    OP

    Newcomer littlecubba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah!
    but can a wii fitted with a WIIKEY be upgraded to fw4.1....???
     
  6. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,454
    Country:
    United States
    My Wii has a Wiikey v1 (1.9s) and it works fine with the 4.1U update.
     
  7. darkgoth

    Newcomer darkgoth Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Gods Country
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mine is !!! Original WiiKey with 4.1E

    Hope your rebuild goes to plan, remember to make regular Nand Backups when you're good again (saves sleepless nights later)
     
  8. littlecubba
    OP

    Newcomer littlecubba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is there a fw4.1 upgrade for folk with a WIIKEY fitted...?
     
  9. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    No. Its not needed
     
  10. littlecubba
    OP

    Newcomer littlecubba Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    another question...

    can i use also use START PATCH v4.1 with the WiiKey...?
     
  11. lithium210

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    my ntsc console has a wiikey with 1.9s and wanin's 4.1. Curious though, why'd you have to run tbr? i didnt need to.
     
  12. caleb4god

    Newcomer caleb4god Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    got wiikey v1 installed on a 3.2u wii here. was changing the settings thru the wiikey official config disc and after the reflash to change the settings it rendered my chip and drive inoperable just like the problem you are having. what worked for me was installing one of the many backup loaders (gecko os for example) and try running a wiikey config or update disc via the backup launcher channel or thru HBC. thats how i eventually got my drive working again. the wiikey was broke for months before all the backup loaders started poppin up. was very glad to get my system up again. good luck
     
  13. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,337
    Country:
    Sweden
    I got a Wiikey with 4.1 E, Rev 14 cIOS. But I used the Waninoko updater 4.0 and then 4.1.

    Try downgrading the cIOS. Might be the problem.
    Else try to re-flash your wiikey to 1.9s firmware.
     

Share This Page