(help)N3DS initializing by Emulator

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by luis_spartano, Oct 15, 2016.

  1. luis_spartano
    OP

    luis_spartano Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Oct 15, 2016
    Brazil
    Hello folks!

    First of all, let me thank you for reading my problem.

    I have a New Nintendo 3DS with ReiNAND CFW installed. When I bought it, it came with snes emulador BLargSnes.

    Today i tried to update the emulator, so I connected the 3DS to my computer by wifi(by 3DS OS), and copied the .CIA to the folder, and updated de boot.3dsx file in the root. NOTE: there were already a boot.3dsx file in the root, so I replaced the file for the one that came with the BLargSnes.

    Since then, EVERYTIME I boot the 3DS, it launches the emulador. It does not launch the OS so I can choose the games. If I press Home button, nothing happens. I'm stuck in the emulador app.

    I have a R4 SDHC Gold Pro card, but even if I take it out of 3DS, it still launch the emulator. So, I think the emulator and the boot.3dsx file I replaced are in the internal memory of the 3DS.

    I'm beginning to be desperate, because now the 3DS are unusable. How'll I access the internal memory, if I cannot boot the original OS, because it launches the emulator?

    I'm really worried, and I REALLY thank any kind of help.

    Thanks!
     


  2. Autz

    Autz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    564
    260
    Feb 18, 2016
    Venezuela
    Have you tried to boot without SD on it?
     
  3. luis_spartano
    OP

    luis_spartano Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Oct 15, 2016
    Brazil
    Yes, I've already tried to boot it without the SD on it, and it continues to boot the emulator BlargSnes.

    I believe the files are in the internal memory, but now I cannot access them because the 3DS keeps booting the emulator.
     
  4. Autz

    Autz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    564
    260
    Feb 18, 2016
    Venezuela
    Other thing: Do you use MenuHax or A9LH?
     
  5. luis_spartano
    OP

    luis_spartano Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Oct 15, 2016
    Brazil
    I'm new to the 3DS world, so I know nothing about MenuHax or A9LH.

    I tought format the 3DS, and Googled about this, but there seems to be only possible in the 3DS OS.
     
  6. Autz

    Autz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    564
    260
    Feb 18, 2016
    Venezuela
    When you normally turn on the 3DS, does it boot with flashy colors on bottom screen? Or does boot directly to Blargsnes without wait? You said that still boots on BlargSnes even without SD so i assume you have A9LH.
     
  7. Mikemk

    Mikemk GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,532
    537
    Mar 26, 2015
    United States
    Released A9LH can't boot without an SD. The dev version can, but can't load payloads from internal NAND.
    @OP what happens if you hold down select when turning the 3DS on?
     
  8. luis_spartano
    OP

    luis_spartano Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Oct 15, 2016
    Brazil
  9. Mikemk

    Mikemk GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,532
    537
    Mar 26, 2015
    United States
    In the future, I recommend using YouTube to host a video.
     
    Autz likes this.
  10. Autz

    Autz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    564
    260
    Feb 18, 2016
    Venezuela
    The recent A9LH doesn't have that dev brach and such. It can load without SD but as you said it can't load payloads from NAND itself. But since this individual has ReiNAND CFW i assume he has a old iteration of A9LH.
     
  11. Mikemk

    Mikemk GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,532
    537
    Mar 26, 2015
    United States
    @OP: Try holding down one of L, R, SELECT, START, or Down while it boots. Press the button before the power button, and keep holding it until the screen comes on. If it doesn't do anything, try the next button. If none of them work, try all the rest of the buttons on the 3DS

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It's not a branch, it's a fork.
     
  12. luis_spartano
    OP

    luis_spartano Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Oct 15, 2016
    Brazil
    Sorry Mikemk, I'm so nervous that I'm not even thinking right.

    Here are the video on youtube:

     
  13. Autz

    Autz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    564
    260
    Feb 18, 2016
    Venezuela
    You're using MenuHax, that explains almost everything. Follow the @Mikemk suggestion.
     
  14. Mikemk

    Mikemk GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,532
    537
    Mar 26, 2015
    United States
  15. luis_spartano
    OP

    luis_spartano Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Oct 15, 2016
    Brazil
    I made it!

    I managed to boot the OS by holding down L button.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Guys, I made it!

    By booting the OS by holding down the L button, I connected the 3DS by wifi, and accessed the internal memory, and restored the boot.3dsx I backed up before all this mess. The system is back to normal, and I didn't have to format and mod it again!

    a BIG THANK YOU to you folks for the help and time spent! I wish you guys the best!
     
  16. gnmmarechal

    gnmmarechal Kirigiri > Naoto

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gnmmarechal is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    4,556
    2,731
    Jul 13, 2014
    Portugal
    https://gs2012.xyz
    huh, I think your terminology might be messed up. The boot.3dsx is NOT in the NAND, at all. Also, HBL is not an OS. sdmc:/boot.3dsx is usually the HBL's executable, while you either place 3DSX apps under sdmc:/3ds , or install the CIAs using a title manager such as FBI or NASA. By "internal memory", you actually mean "SD" or "microSD" memory.

    MenuHax definitely doesn't launch any 3DSX from NAND. And you can't access the internal memory through microSD Management or any FTP apps for the 3DS.

    Also, by "booting without SD", did you really remove the microSD card inside the 3DS? I'm pretty sure you did not.
     
    Last edited by gnmmarechal, Oct 15, 2016
    Quantumcat likes this.
  17. Autz

    Autz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    564
    260
    Feb 18, 2016
    Venezuela
    But he stated that it booted into BlargSNES even without SD on it. Unless he also misinterpreted that.
     
  18. gnmmarechal

    gnmmarechal Kirigiri > Naoto

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gnmmarechal is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    4,556
    2,731
    Jul 13, 2014
    Portugal
    https://gs2012.xyz
    That makes no sense. No 3DSX is ever booted from NAND, blargSNES is not installed to NAND as a CIA, and he seems to be using ReiNAND with MenuHax. He says he removed the file using microSD Management or FTP, which wouldn't let him access the NAND. He might not have ever unscrewed the back of the n3DS and realized there is a micro SD card there.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I'd say he removed the SD card of his R4. lol.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  19. Autz

    Autz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    564
    260
    Feb 18, 2016
    Venezuela
    But confusing the R4's SD with the normal SD/microSD memory is, well... Outstanding.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  20. LinkSoraZelda

    LinkSoraZelda GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,974
    617
    Aug 12, 2015
    United States
    Land of the Rising Orange
    Jesus... Menuhax isn't even that long ago and people are forgetting how it works?

    OP, boot.3DSX is the file that usually boots your OS. It will boot whatever file is there when the system boots up. If you replace the file, for example, the emulator, it will boot the emulator instead.

    Replacing your R4i card will have zero effect, and has nothing at all to do with booting the 3DS. Putting the original boot.3dsx will allow you to load your system.

    Try removing the SD Card of your system. It will boot up to another version of your OS, a particularly unsafe version. For this reason, do NOT accept any update messages and try not to do much while in this alternative OS.

    The microSD Card is located in the battery cover.

    By the way, a game card is not an SD Card.

    For future reference, you have Menuhax.
     
    Last edited by LinkSoraZelda, Oct 15, 2016
    Kyouken likes this.