Help! My Wii Doesn't Work

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by sigh101, Nov 26, 2008.

Nov 26, 2008

Help! My Wii Doesn't Work by sigh101 at 6:06 PM (883 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. sigh101
    OP

    Newcomer sigh101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not really sure what happened. When I turned on my Wii today, there was no video. When I pointed the Wii Remote at the screen I could still feel the channels, but I get a plain black screen. I have tested this on multiple TV's and get the same results.

    Someone please help me.
     
  2. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Could the cable be damaged maybe? This isnt a problem Ive seen before, maybe others have though.
     
  3. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Banner Brick.
     
  4. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol really? I guess I didnt know the symptoms [​IMG]
     
  5. sigh101
    OP

    Newcomer sigh101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Can someone tell me what a banner brick is and how to recover from it?
     
  6. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT:

    Do you still hear the music in the background?

    If so, it sounds like a Banner Brick.

    Have you installed any .wad files onto your Wii?
     
  7. sigh101
    OP

    Newcomer sigh101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, there is no music and no I haven't installed any .wad files. The last time I used the Wii was while playing a Super Paper Mario backup on Gamma. I remember getting a disk read error, so I just turned it off until today. I'm beginning to think there is a problem with the cables because even though there is no sound or video, I can still feel the channels everytime I point my controller to the screen.
     
  8. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    That's what a Banner Brick can do.

    It will play the music, and you're able to move the cursor. But no image will be displayed.

    But since you haven't installed anything, then it might just be your cables.
     
  9. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    That's a cable problem if you havent installed channels ect. My friends wii did that, his cable just shorted out, you could still feel the vibration from the channels though, just no sound or video
     
  10. vegeta4ss

    Member vegeta4ss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    I know this thread is a couple days old but....

    if you install a wad and then reboot the wii and it comes up fine, can you consider everything good to go? because it sounded like someone suggested an earlier installed wad just randomly wreaked havoc on the system files, which if that's the case i'm pulling off the two VC ones i put on already.
     

Share This Page