Homebrew Help me, I'm a noob at compiling homebrew applications

Melsbacksfriend

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm a noob at compiling homebrew. I need a noob-friendly tutorial. I don't even know how to generate the makefile. Can you tell me how to do that first?

D

Deleted User

thats very simple you go to: devkitpro.org
then you just download the Updater (its no Updater its Installer/Updater)
then you execute it and install it

WARNING: ITS NO RUNNABLE APPLICATION

then go into your installation folder standard is: C:\devkitpro
then you go into C:\devkitpro\examples\switch and choose what you want
i started testing around with the hello-world program its in the graphics/printing folder

when you want to port something it gets complicated.
most games are using different libaries.
then you enter msys2 in the Cortana field or however you want to call it dont know how the offical name for win 7 is
then a window will open and directly close and then a linux console open (btw everything what works in Msys2 works in PowerShell from win10 too)
then you enter pacman -Sl (its a L no i) please be careful when using this command in PowerShell because in Powershell it writes very slow. (CASE SENSITIVE COMMAND)
then you search your package and copy the name from the first to the last space. please think about that every normal package the games uses not must be avaiable on nintendo switch
then you enter pacman -S [NAME OF PACKAGE]
then you say YES or JA or SI or what ever your computer prompt you to.
then you will install this package and no theres no method installing all. (sadly)
then you need a Makefile and im really not good at creating Makefiles sorry but maybe YouTube helps you btw the original game Makefile will compiles in a EXE or what ever too so you need a new one.
a template Makefile is foundable in the examples folder. SDL Makefiles are in graphics/sdl2/sdl2-simple