1. Vincent Vicious

    OP Vincent Vicious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Macau
    i found this tutorial on youtube :

    its really detailed and good but one thing is this was made 5 months ago, so if i install this 2.6 rxTools ver and follow this tutorial will i be able to play latest 3ds games ?
     
  2. kennyhi123

    kennyhi123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    183
    Country:
    United States
    yes just update emunand
     
    Vincent Vicious likes this.
  3. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,146
    Country:
    United States
    Vincent Vicious likes this.
  4. Vincent Vicious

    OP Vincent Vicious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Macau
    Yea i already have that tutorial on my bookmarks its just that some steps on the thread are done differently than the video so it confused me
     
  5. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,146
    Country:
    United States
    well the video you posted is for 2.6 and outdated thets why its different you can follow it if you want but when done you will want to update your rxtools version so you can autoboot cfw so why not kill two birds with one stone and just use the newer guide
     
    Vincent Vicious likes this.
  6. Vincent Vicious

    OP Vincent Vicious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Macau
    I was going to follow the guide on the thread but when i downloaded that rxTools given there i saw this "rxTools nightly build buggy and incomplete"
    so i thought its not that good , is it stable ?
    just a stupid question : what do you mean by "you can autoboot cfw" ? rx mode boots automatically when i turn my 3ds on ?
    and thanks alot you really helped me out ^^
     
  7. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,146
    Country:
    United States
    i use the 9-28 build from this link RxTools Nightlies by @WhoAmI? it's the most stable build i have used

    yes that's exactly what i mean by autoboot here is a video of it https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=LcAMVMpXjzo
    also the only stupid question is an unasked question
     
    Quantumcat and Vincent Vicious like this.
  8. Vincent Vicious

    OP Vincent Vicious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Macau
    so that version is going to work well for everyday's use if i follow the instructions on that thread u linked before ?
    [​IMG]
    btw is there a problem on "cdn_firm.py" ? it doesnt generate a firmware.bin like it should.
    [​IMG][/url][/IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by Vincent Vicious, Dec 9, 2015
  9. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,986
    Country:
    United States

    Have you installed python?
     
  10. Vincent Vicious

    OP Vincent Vicious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Macau
    yes ofc, as u can see on the screenshot the file has the python icon.
     
  11. vb_encryption_vb

    vb_encryption_vb That hardmod guy....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,986
    Country:
    United States

    You did install Python 2.7.X and not python 3 correct?
     
    wormdood likes this.
  12. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,146
    Country:
    United States
    go back to rx tools. Zip go to properties and then go to unblock then unzip it and try again
     
  13. Vincent Vicious

    OP Vincent Vicious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Macau
    i couldnt find that option but i found a firmware.bin here : (removed link)
    its gonna work too right ?
     
    Last edited by Vincent Vicious, Dec 10, 2015
  14. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,146
    Country:
    United States
    first remove that link it violates gbatemp rules
    and it may or may not work (differint versions of rxtools use different firmware.bin files) but one you make yourself will work for sure
     
  15. Vincent Vicious

    OP Vincent Vicious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Macau
    ok ill try to make the generator work and see
     
  16. Vincent Vicious

    OP Vincent Vicious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Macau
    it generated it successfully after i re-installed python, thanks for help
    i have all needed files and informations now to install the CFW ill do it today i guess im just kinda nervous about bricking my 3ds cause i just bought it lol
     
  17. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,146
    Country:
    United States
    the only part of the process that is dangerous at all is updating sysnand and even that is safe if you read first and follow the instructions carefully
     
  18. Vincent Vicious

    OP Vincent Vicious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Macau
    do i need to format my SD card before starting the tutorial ?
    [​IMG]
    cause i have two folders with numbers and letters , and on the tutorial there should be only one
     
  19. wormdood

    wormdood pirate booty inspector
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    5,146
    Country:
    United States
    no you don't need to format just delete the older one the (d63 . . . .) folder
     
  20. Vincent Vicious

    OP Vincent Vicious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Macau
    the sd card is protected or something (its the one that came with the 3ds) i cant make folders/copy/delete ...
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - installing, rxTools,