[help] Fixing error 003 unauthorized device has been detected

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by blopa, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. blopa
    OP

    Member blopa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi all!
    So, my friend updated a Wii with chipmod to 4.2U and the Wii got bricked!
    Now, I'm trying to fix it using this tutorial: http://www.wiihacks.com/bricked-wii-issues...n-detected.html but I just can't get it done!
    When I turn the Wii on using SaveMiiFrii, the 4.2 USA shows up, so I put the game disc but nothing happens! Keep on the 4.2 USA screen forever.
    What is wrong?
    Please, help!

    Thanks a lot!
     
  2. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    3 things bad:

    1) He chipped his Wii.
    2) The URL to that guide does not contain gbatemp.net.
    3) If he was gonna update, he should have updated using either Modmii or the official Nintendo updater. Dirty tricks like the "Safe 4.2 Upgrader" will usually brick your Wii.

    Send the Wii to DeadlyFoez (with his permission of course) and he can use his Infectus to fix the Wii. Hopefully.
     
  3. blopa
    OP

    Member blopa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Brazil

    Firstly, thanks for your reply =)

    1) Yeah! So stupid
    2) Sorry! There's the same on GBAtemp, but it's outdated! Here http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=207572
    3) I live in Brazil =(

    As far as I know, the tutorial should work... why it isn't?


    EDIT: When I try my original Super Mario Galaxy 2 game, the 4.2 USA disappear, the screen goes all black, but nothing happens. What could it be? Help i.i
     
  4. bubuzuke

    Newcomer bubuzuke Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Brazil
    did you tried a DVD media with good quality?
     
  5. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    The guide works fine, you don't have a modchip.
     
  6. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States

    Not a one of those three points was right. I'd much rather have a chip than a slow softmod for disc loading any day. Just because it isn't a link to GBAtemp doesn't mean it's wrong and Never EVER use the official Nintendo Updater to update a wii!

    as for the rest of it yes...

    @OP As mauifrog said the guide works perfectly. If it's not reading the game disc then it doesn't have a chip in the system. If it does have a chip then you are doing something wrong.
     

Share This Page