HELP BRICKED WII!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Sajiko, Aug 2, 2009.

Aug 2, 2009

HELP BRICKED WII! by Sajiko at 12:03 AM (1,299 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    I was installing an update for someone to use Wii Sports Resort so I installed CIOS rev14 (they had rev7 before)
    and installed the 3.1 CIOScorp and then it all went bad and said system menu files corrupted!

    I think the Wii was on either 4.0U or 3.2U before hand. Lukcily I can get into preloader menu and HBC but when I tried and reinstalled preloader it didn't do anything (gave me same problem). When I tried to load system menu from preloader 0.29 it said hacks.ini isn't found on FAT or NAND. I have the hacks files on the sd root. Please someone, is this Wii fixable?
     
  2. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Try installing BootMii. BootMii is WAY better than Preloader. Is it semi-brick or fully brick, Sajiko?
     
  3. RohitVerma

    Newcomer RohitVerma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    You can do one of these things (Find the files on your own time)

    1) Re-Install your System WAD
    2) Install another sysmenu
    3) Reinstall Preloader (Usually works, but it didn't in my situation, so I resorted to option 1)

    It's a simple Semi-Brick that has easy remidies if you know where to look.)
     
  4. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    got into preloader and choose the setting at the bottom then go to the ios setting at the bottom of that and change it to system menu ios 60 save the setting and you should be ok
     
  5. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow, you are a friggin master dude!

    I am tearing up, you saved my life!
     
  6. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    np just glad i could help
     
  7. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok, sorry for the double post, but as it turns out this Wii is still on version 3.2U, now that I have installed rev14 and Cios 3.1 (I dont know if they installed properly though because the Wii semi-bricked shortly after).

    WOuld it be Ok to UPDATE the Wii via Nintendo servers to 4.1U and then reinstall rev14 and cIOScorp 3.1
     
  8. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    NO just insert a disk and see if it works its not a semi brick just preloader is trying to load the wrong ios everything should work ok

    or use waninkos updater 4.0 or 4.1
     
  9. RohitVerma

    Newcomer RohitVerma Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, you installed CiosCorp while installing SoftMii correct? Maybe.
     
  10. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    OK, good thing I didn't update. I inserted my backup of Wii Sports Resort it loaded up and is now going through the 3 minute video so I will see if it works afterwards. So it's not Ok to update this Wii? I'll be sure to tell my friend that if that is the case.
     
  11. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
  12. Sajiko
    OP

    Newcomer Sajiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks dude saved me a million!
     
  13. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Male sure you have IOS60 installed. If not the 4.1 updater will just install the Systemmenu wad.
     
  14. Jaydub

    Newcomer Jaydub Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Miami, FL, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Is Waninkoko 4.1 Updater recommended to use?( noob question) [​IMG]
     
  15. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    I think no. The official Nintendo updater is better than Waninkoko's updater.
     
  16. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    It'll remove Trucha Bug, follow the ULTIMATE System Menu 4.0 Guide and you should be good to go. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page