Help! An error Occurred

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by ImpossibleKid, Jan 11, 2019.

  1. ImpossibleKid
    OP

    ImpossibleKid Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 7, 2018
    Netherlands
    I keep having this issue
    ---------------------------------
    Error type: Generic

    Process ID: 15
    Process name: menu
    Process title ID: 0x0004003000009802

    Adress: 0x00230e34
    Error Code: 0xd8c3fbf3
    ------------------------------------

    I cleaned my SD Reformat the card as FAT32 + 32 KB cluster etc. Updated everything I'm supposed to Removed and Re-installed the .Cia's from different sources, tried most of not all the things people have recommended etc. on the forums to others with errors and just nothing seems to work!

    it only shows up when I run ''Pokemon Ultra Sun'' ''Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate'' and ''Monster Hunter Stories'' and press the ''Home'' Button and it happened once in a cut scene in ''Monster Hunter Stories'' it is driving me nuts as everything else seems to work just fine without issues.... what am I missing here?
     
    Last edited by ImpossibleKid, Jan 11, 2019
  2. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    [GitHub/ihaveamac] SeedDB list

    While connected online,
    • FBI → Titles → Example Game → Import Seed
    , although Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate isn't known to need a seed. MH4U may have an issue entirely different than seed.

    If you want to be thorough checking the SD card,
    1. Copy everything the card onto a computer.
    2. Reformat in FAT32 + 32 KB cluster size with Windows File Explorer or guiformat (if bigger than 32 GB).
    3. Full Write + Verify test the empty card using H2testw. The wait will suck, but it's for reassurance of knowing.
    4. If the card is fine, delete the *.h2w test files; replace the hardware failed card if an error was reported.
     
    ImpossibleKid likes this.
  3. ImpossibleKid
    OP

    ImpossibleKid Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 7, 2018
    Netherlands
    Owh I have indeed not seeded Story's or Ultra sun!

    As for checking the SD card I did those steps multiple times before(as I saw your post multiple times on other people's error topics) And well there is nothing wrong with my 32gb card hence it all struck me as weird as I also see no one else having this specific problem with the mentioned games especially ''Ultra Sun'' and ''Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate'' they both get that same error when I press the Home button....... of the 12 or so 3DS games on my Card those are the only one with the issues.

    I have to mention however that said games run fine thus far as long as I don't press the home menu button, so it is not an issue that makes said games unplayable, but for how long......

    It also leaves me fearing the consequences about doing nothing about it, I don't want my 3DS to freeze and end up bricking what so ever :P
     
    Last edited by ImpossibleKid, Jan 11, 2019
  4. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    Edit 1 - Oh shoot. I forgot about mention updating the custom firmware to Luma3DS v9.1, boot9strap v1.3, and GodMode9 v1.7.1 somewhere on both CTRNAND and SD card.

    Step 0. Updating B9S

    Edit 2 - Also forgot, use these as default settings for Luma3DS v9.1 configuration.

    [​IMG]

    ***
    1. Back up the saves + extdata with Checkpoint or JKSM for all games. For safety.
    2. Reinstall fresh *.cia copies of Pokemon Ultra Sun and Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate.
      • :!: Previous save data will be overwritten if you reinstall a game. Please back up saves + extdata from step 1.
    3. Restore the saves + extdata for both games.
    4. Check if those two (2) games still crash when pressing (HOME) button.

    If the 3DS still crashes for those games after steps 1–4,

    5. Back up your current SysNAND in case the following steps do not work out.
    6. Repair the 3DS firmware with both CTRTransfer (downgrade to 11.5) and Recovery Mode (update to 11.9).
    • If there are any games missing in HOME Menu, look in System Settings → Data Management → Nintendo 3DS → Software.
    • If you see them marked with greyed out X's, they have lost their tickets from the CTRTransfer.
    • Replacement tickets can be found at that ISO site, or follow this tutorial in regenerating/reinstalling tickets:
    7. Check both games again with (HOME) button.
    If the 3DS still crashes for those games after steps 6–7,

    8. Repair the 3DS firmware with CTRTransfer using Decrypt9WIP (see how to here) and Recovery Mode.
    9. Check both games with (HOME) button once more.​

    If the 3DS still crashes for those games after steps 8-9,

    10. :(

     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jan 11, 2019
    ImpossibleKid likes this.
  5. ImpossibleKid
    OP

    ImpossibleKid Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 7, 2018
    Netherlands
    Sorry for the late reply had a busy week~

    I've done everything you have said and in the process of putting Monster hunter Stories on the 3DS again(did h2testw full write + Verify and my SD is fine), Monster Hunter Stories especially I have issues with as it not only just gave that error when I press the home button but it also froze after character creation no mater where I got the .cia from.

    Fingers crossed ><''''
     
    Last edited by ImpossibleKid, Jan 15, 2019
  6. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    If you reinstall a game that needs a seed, you have to reimport that seed.

    Another thing to watch out for when playing out of region games. For example seen here, when I played The Legend of Zelda - Majora's Mask 3D (EUR) on my USA n3DSXL, I need to use Luma3DS game patching, Locale Emulation. The same goes for EUR 3DS users who needed Locale Emulation when they played the early release of Luigi's Mansion (USA).

    Edit - This is of course if you have a EUR 3DS and are using USA or JPN *.cia roms.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jan 15, 2019
    ImpossibleKid likes this.
  7. ImpossibleKid
    OP

    ImpossibleKid Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 7, 2018
    Netherlands
    This is what happened now after character creation....
    (I only use EUR cia on my EUR 3DS)
    ----------------------------------
    An Exception has occured

    Processor: ARM11 (core 0)
    Exception type: Data abort
    Fault Status: Translation - page
    Current progress: swkbd (000400300000D002)
    ----------------------------------

    :cry:
     
    Last edited by ImpossibleKid, Jan 15, 2019
  8. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    000400300000D002 is the Title ID for the EUR region Software Keyboard.
    The EUR and USA versions of Monster Hunter Stories require a minimum 3DS firmware version of 11.4.0.
    Only the EUR version of MHS with Title ID 00040000001BC600 supports Dutch language.

    ****

    Edit 1 - Okay, try this. Maybe the CTRTransfer with GodMode9 and Recovery Mode didn't fix your 3DS firmware. Try instead:

    Assuming you have o3DS, o3DSXL, or o2DS (adjust your image choice), CTRTransfer with Decrypt9WIP followed by Recovery Mode.

    • Get Decrypt9WIP at https://d0k3.secretalgorithm.com/
    • sdmc:/luma/payloads/Decrypt9WIP
    • sdmc:/files9/11.5.0-38E_ctrtransfer_o3ds.bin
    • sdmc:/files9/11.5.0-38E_ctrtransfer_o3ds.bin.sha
    • Decrypt9WIP → SysNAND Options → CTRTransfer... → Auto CTRNAND Transfer → button combo → 11.5.0-38E_ctrtransfer_o3ds.binetc.
    ****

    Edit 2 - Nvm, you stated you already tried everything. The only thing I can think of is that your SD card is too slow. Does your SD card have a Class 4 speed rating?
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jan 15, 2019
    ImpossibleKid likes this.
  9. ImpossibleKid
    OP

    ImpossibleKid Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 7, 2018
    Netherlands
    the cia I use has Title ID 00040000001BC600

    Everything is updated and on their last versions as well

    Could it be that I somehow changed my 3DS region? it just jumped to mind that I tried to make my 3DS region free but gave up because I ''thought'' it didn't work.... hmmmm

    Now that I think about it I never had issues before changing my Region on the 3DS I did change it back to EUR though, but then again I also didn't try to play MHS or MH4U before so the issue might already have been there before.... ugh so lost I just wan't to game >< XD

    I think I already did the CTRTransfer with Decrypt9WIP followed by Recovery Mode steps but I'll do that one again and see how it goes~
     
    Last edited by ImpossibleKid, Jan 15, 2019
  10. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    Hold off from doing CTRTransfer with Decrypt9WIP. Go back about the part with region changing.

    Are you a person in the Netherlands who bought a 3DS system that didn't originally have a EUR 3DS firmware?

    Did you try region changing the firmware using this guide?
     
    ImpossibleKid likes this.
  11. ImpossibleKid
    OP

    ImpossibleKid Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 7, 2018
    Netherlands
    Nope just an EUR 3DS bought from an EUR store, I tried to change my region of the 3DS as some games never got an EU release like ''7th Dragon'' strangely enough after fooling around with region change I now can run any game from any region really soooo I think I made my 3DS region free already.... seemingly..... at least EU/USA does not seem to make much difference anymore as ''The Alliance Alive'' which does not even had an EUR release seems to work just fine XD

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Ok it seems that Monster hunter stories crashes when I press ''Enter name'' in character creation now with the Translation - page error :/
     
    Last edited by ImpossibleKid, Jan 15, 2019
  12. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    Just for info, 7th Dragon III Code: VFD did receive a EUR release.

    With Luma3DS installed, you don't need to region change the 3DS firmware to play out of region games. Custom firmware removes region locking altogether.

    If you used CTRTransfer to region change from EUR → USA, your attempt must have likely damaged the 3DS firmware in some way. Go to System Settings and look for Sys 11.9.0-42E. If you instead see Sys 11.9.0-42U, this means your 3DS is now using the USA firmware where it cannot play certain EUR games if they need Locale Emulation.
     
    ImpossibleKid likes this.
  13. ImpossibleKid
    OP

    ImpossibleKid Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 7, 2018
    Netherlands
    ah my system is 11.9.0-42E

    good god this is driving me insane XD

    I've pretty much re-did everything by now and it still keeps giving me this error and only for the specific games and I never had this issue before the last 4months I've been using my 3DS..... been playing DB heroes, DQ7, Hyrule warriors, Fantasy life, Mario kart all work fine(and still do)......

    so the logical conclusion would be it's an issue with said cia files.... thing is other people using said cia files seem to have no issues ><
     
    Last edited by ImpossibleKid, Jan 15, 2019
  14. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    Substitute Majora's Mask with Monster Hunter Stories. Here's how to tell if your CIA is good or not.
    Check if your SD card has at minimum Class 10 speed rating. Slow cards can crash the 3DS with bigger sized and more complex games.

    If you don't recalled doing CTRTransfer with Decrypt9WIP, you should go ahead and try it with a matching EUR region + (old/new) 3DS *.bin image.

    Other than that, take a look in the [1:]SYSNAND CTRNAND/rw/sys directory with GodMode9. You should only see SecureInfo_A or SecureInfo_B. If you see SecureInfo_C, this additional file created from region changing can cause problems if its 0x100 offset region code mismatches the 3DS firmware's actual region.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Jan 15, 2019
    ImpossibleKid likes this.
  15. ImpossibleKid
    OP

    ImpossibleKid Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 7, 2018
    Netherlands
    :o I got Stories to work! by enabling ''disable arm11 exception handlers''

    or at least I can put in a name now without it crashing, so so far so good I suppose~

    We must have done something right though as that option to turn it of/on was not even there before I believe only the first 5 options o.o
     
    Last edited by ImpossibleKid, Jan 15, 2019
  16. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    Using this option like this:
    • (x) Disable ARM11 exception handlers
    is asking for trouble. While it does ignore certain ARM11 crashes, it does not fix the underlying problems that causes them.

    This option will cause grief in the long run. People have reported bricking their 3DS firmware and having all their games disappearing in HOME Menu using it.
     
    ImpossibleKid likes this.
  17. ImpossibleKid
    OP

    ImpossibleKid Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Nov 7, 2018
    Netherlands
    I've bricked my 3DS multiple times already and lost my stuff on the 3DS multiple times as well while trying to solve/fix issues XD

    I could try to disable that option again after character creation and creating a save file and see if it then runs without issues
     
    Last edited by ImpossibleKid, Jan 15, 2019
  18. Inny74

    Inny74 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 21, 2019
    United States
    Anywhere
    Reinstall the Luma3DS boot.firm file. Your proccess 15 is missing. To reinstall Luma3DS, download the boot, not the updater, and drag the boot file from the .zip to the root of the SD Card. Insert it back onto the 3DS, hold power + select, then turn on "Show NAND or user string in System Settings" then press start. You should not have this problem again.



    This happens because all the proccesses are stored in the boot file. And when you play around with the Rosalina settings, or ran a bad mod for a game, which made the entire system to crash, which corrupts one, or several proccesses, which may hinder you from accessing the Home Menu, or even the entire system itself. Installing a new boot proccess restores the corrupted proccesses and will return the menu back to normal.
     
    Last edited by Inny74, Jan 21, 2019
  19. lone_wolf323

    lone_wolf323 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    8
    May 27, 2011
    Canada
    your not reinstalling cfw itself. Its simply the boot process file your saying to put a fresh file onto.
     
  20. Inny74

    Inny74 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jan 21, 2019
    United States
    Anywhere
    Thanks for correcting me there.

    EDIT: I have edit the post.
     
    Last edited by Inny74, Jan 21, 2019
Loading...