Hello everyone! Eager to learn

AStrkl

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Hey there! Happy to be here, I've been a lurker for many years but finally decided to start posting :ha:

I'm a game dev with 10+ years of experience, worked in AAA for a while, and ended up working on my indie games. Recently I've been super interested in taking on romhacking as a hobby, and this forum has always been a great learning resource.

I've been doing some simple NES and Gamebody translation on my own, and I'm starting to dabble in 3DS right now, but it's getting very hard so I want to ask the help of users here

So once again, Hello! :bow:

DragonMals

6th-7th Gen Retro Gaming Entusiast
Trophies
Country
United States
I'm a game dev with 10+ years of experience, worked in AAA for a while, and ended up working on my indie games.
Wow! You're off to a fantastic start then. You've joined one of the bets communities to talk about modding and stuff.
super interested in taking on romhacking as a hobby,
Someday I'd like to get into rom hacking too but I don't know which is harder: working with AAA, making an indie game, making a fangame, or a rom hack

AStrkl

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Wow! You're off to a fantastic start then. You've joined one of the bets communities to talk about modding and stuff.

Someday I'd like to get into rom hacking too but I don't know which is harder: working with AAA, making an indie game, making a fangame, or a rom hack

I would say its all equally hard, but what matter is making something you like!
So far AAA has been my least favorite experience, but I did learn a ton! Indie game is great to learn a bit of everything!

So far Romhacking has been great to learn very low level stuff, and learn more about how software in general work!

Reactions: AncientBoi

DragonMals

6th-7th Gen Retro Gaming Entusiast
Trophies
Country
United States
I would say its all equally hard, but what matter is making something you like!