HDD in the hood

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by nemesiszero, May 25, 2009.

May 25, 2009

HDD in the hood by nemesiszero at 7:51 PM (1,183 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. nemesiszero
    OP

    Newcomer nemesiszero Newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    hi guys i an looking at getting a usb hdd for my wii i have had my eye on this one but will it work.
    Seagate Expansion 500GB External USB Desktop Hard Drive

    Also if you guys know a better one tell me aslong as i can buy it the uk, its 500gb, costs no more then £50 and works with the wii.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. DirtyH

    Newcomer DirtyH Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Germany
    take a western digital my passport essential
    [​IMG]
    and take only a 250gb one, thats more than enough space for all the wii games you maybe want to play.
    this drive is very small, needs only one usb cable to operate and needs NO ac adapter.
    its so small and light, you can even stick it with some doublesided tape to the side of your wii.

    costs a bit more than you want, but its definitly worth it, alone for style and comfort. [​IMG]
     
  3. thebobinc

    Member thebobinc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Montréal Québec 514 , Cacanada
    Country:
    Canada
    i would suggest you to by an separate enclosure an and hd the size you want , in Montréal for an 500 gig sata2 , is 59$ , and the enclosure 18$ , come cheaper then buying one all assemble at future scrap [​IMG]

    look like that almost all drive is compatible , only when you use an hd that is only working with usb , no other power request, you may experience some spin down issue, yes there is way to avoid these, but request extra step,

    so there is my suggestion hope it will help you to make the choice that suit best for you
     
  4. sirfris

    Newcomer sirfris Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    If I get a 500gb external hard drive do I need to get one with upnp to enable streaming video through my xbox36? Or is that only on network drives and not usb?
     
  5. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'd go with a drive without external power. Much more convenient. I have a WD my passport as well and am VERY satisfied with it...but I can't really say I tried dozens of those things. [​IMG]

    Reread the link: it only matters for a NAS. [​IMG] For a regular USB drive...let's just say it doesn't apply.
     
  6. chop

    Member chop GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    These Buffalo HDD's from ebuyer work, I've got the 1TB Drive, and I've used the 500gb portable drive in another mod I did.
     
  7. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States

    I have that exact drive, works perfectly with my wii @FAT32.

    Power and data all over one USB connection.
     

Share This Page