Hardware Have I bricked my switch?

loofamai

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I'm brand new to the switch scene, I brought a v1 switch off Facebook, it was running fine but only had 128gb SD card.

I wanted to upgrade it so was following instructions via a YouTube vid. I had backed up the partition and was ready to take out the SD card, I however did not power off through the menu as I was told by seller not to power off the system. I therefore held down the power button and the switch powered off and has since not been able to be powered on (black screen) tried all combinations of power and volume buttons to no avail.

Any ideas, I have the original dumps of the switch on a usb stick, if that helps.

Thanks and sorry for my stupidity,

JJO192

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Hi I'm brand new to the switch scene, I brought a v1 switch off Facebook, it was running fine but only had 128gb SD card.

I wanted to upgrade it so was following instructions via a YouTube vid. I had backed up the partition and was ready to take out the SD card, I however did not power off through the menu as I was told by seller not to power off the system. I therefore held down the power button and the switch powered off and has since not been able to be powered on (black screen) tried all combinations of power and volume buttons to no avail.

Any ideas, I have the original dumps of the switch on a usb stick, if that helps.

Thanks and sorry for my stupidity,
The seller likely has something called 'AutoRCM' installed on the system. This is not a bad thing and the blank screen is normal. 'AutoRCM' means you do not need what is referred to as a 'Jig'.

Basically, in a powered off state the switch needs a payload to be injected via the PC to re-enter Custom Firmware environments. So follow the below tutorial.

https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/user_guide/emummc/sending_payload/
'
When it states in 'RCM' mode, know it already is without the need for a 'Jig'.