Hardware issue or bad softmod ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by flo, Mar 25, 2011.

Mar 25, 2011

Hardware issue or bad softmod ? by flo at 8:47 PM (2,073 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. flo
    OP

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Hungary
    Hi everyone . I have a 4.1U with a serial of LKM1118xxx so it's the korean region changed type . I got it second hand and nothing worked properly on it . I made a syscheck and noticed Cioscorp/Darkcorp was there ..it was a mess ..i cleaned everything up and now it looks like this

    Warning: Spoilers inside!




    Problem is ..it's not seeing an USB HDD ! Detection rate is like 1 out of 20 tries .
    Tried with the same setup i have on my other Wii which works great ( same cios & hard drive & usb loaders)

    Also , it's not connecting to the Wi-Fi router . Connection tests ok randomly but i can't get online with anything . Test Connection often fails with error 55330 .

    It won't read DVD's in Neogamma , gets an DVD Read Error 1167 before the disc even starts to spin .

    Could it have a modchip inside which is causing all these errors ?
    I have not opened it and don't know how .
    Softmod looks fine now , my only hypothesis is a hardware malfunction .

    Do you guys have any recommendations of what i could do to it at a software level ?

    Should i delete the korean IOS'es 41,43,45,46,48 ? Are they still active if the region is 4.1U ?
    Format Wii System Memory then resoftmod ?
    Reinstall 4.1U System Menu and EULA and Region select?
    Region change to 4.1E ?
    Region change to 4.1E , then update to 4.3E and redo the softmod with Lego Indiana ?
    Format it using Bad_Ad's app Nand Formatter ?
     


  2. M1r0

    Member M1r0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    How did you clean it up? Maybe you should try installing korean system menu on wii? I'm not an expert on region changes, so I don't know.
     
  3. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    update all your cios with modmii
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you really have the same cIOS on 2 different Wiis and you use the same usb loader, i'd say there's something wrong with the usb port. A modchip can't interfere with usb loading, only with disc loading, because it's connected to the drive, and that is not used when loading from usb.

    So you have cIOS rev 17 installed on it, if i were you, i would try the lastest cIOS you can install with modmii, usb compatiblity greatly depends on the used cIOS. Also, your usb loader might be set to use IOS222, and then you need to either change that, or update that too.
     
  5. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Run any region changer mod6 and ensure all your settings and system menu are USA. Also beware error 003, if I where you I would run that Korean wii thru my softmod guide below which will protect you from 003, possibly even fix your issue.
     
  6. flo
    OP

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Hungary
    USB Loaders are set to use IOS250 by default , that's the new CIOS 21d2x3 .

    Here's the setup in Any Region Changer

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us


    Should i reinstall the 4.1 system menu ? Most of the IOS / CIOS are from your guide Mauifrog and some from Modmii .

    There are still some software issues left..when i'm in HBC i press HOME , exit to system menu and i get a blackscreen

    I go to Internet Settings to enable WiiConnect , i get an error i need to update to use this feature . Shop Channel freezes at the first screen . Mii Channel and Photo Channel are in Korean .

    Maybe the console was not region changed from factory , someone else did it..and what a mess he did ..
     
  7. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    Remod completely your wii with modmii saying its a virgin BUT SAY ITS REGION CHANGED!
     
  8. flo
    OP

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Hungary
    I followed the Modmii guide , all installed fine except the 3 channels that were already on this Wii , Photo ,Shopping and Internet

    A lot of IOS'es have gained NAND Acces after following Modmii RC guide . Here's the new syscheck

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    The USB detection issues are still there ! I tried Wii Xplorer or Mplayer CE ( run on CIOS 202 ) and they failed to detect the HDD
    Is there any way i could use the other usb connector for usb loading ?

    Should i try to format the wii system memory then redo softmod ?
     
  9. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
    Try Configurable USBLoader or WiiMC and the HDD MUST BE PLUGGED ON THE BOTTOM PORT
     
  10. flo
    OP

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Hungary
    I know the correct USB port.. it's just not working
    I deleted everything with Any Title Deleter (except IOSes of course)
    Thed did a Format Wii System Memory . All i had left was Disc Channel .
    Then i did the softmod by Mauifrog again .

    Wiimc sees the HDD but only after a few tries .
    CFG Loader , Wiiflow , USB Loader Gx all see the HDD rarely and randomly . The only pattern..if i clean the USB port with alcohol HDD is detected but if i exit to HBC and load it again..FAIL
    Other apps that read USB like WiiXplorer or Mplayer CE ....rare,rare detections .
    Also HBC 1.0.8 does not see the apps folder placed on USB


    I think there's something wrong with the Wi-Fi card as well . This Wii just won't connect to the router .
    Could a faulty Wi-Fi card have affect on the USB ports ?
    Or maybe a power shortage caused this hardware failure ?

    At a software level i don't know what else could i try ..
     
  11. M1r0

    Member M1r0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    At a software level, you could make a nand backup, and then entirely restore your nand (not from the backup, keep that if nothing works). Then reinstall homebrew and try again. If that doesn't work, it is almost certainly a hardware problem.
     
  12. flo
    OP

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Hungary
    What do you mean..make a nand backup and restore my Nand but not from that backup ? Where from ?

    I could try to region change it to E , then officially update to 4.3 . Is this safe , KOR to USA then USA to EUR ? Then i'll remod using Lego Indiana .
    It won't get 003 error because i have all the cios by Mauifrog installed .

    If i region change it to E i'd be able to test if DVD-rom reads original games or is totally broken . On the current 4.1U i enabled the setting " Region Free Wii Games " in Priiloader went to disc channel , popped an original PAL game and it won't read it, disc is ejected But , i don't know if it's supposed to read it..being from the disc channel

    I've also read about 2 advanced techniques , used mostly for bricks :

    - format the Nand with Nand Formatter , after formatting it just installs a few IOS'es and the 4.1 System Menu . This program does it's job but i read it "messes up permissions" whatever that is . It will have some minor bugs after you perform this on a console .

    - Flash a donor Nand to my console , i heard it's possible if i have my keys , a bunch of software , a lot of patience and a ton of knowledge .

    Is there any other way i could test the functionality of the USB ports and Wi-Fi adapter ? Some homebrew software ?
     
  13. M1r0

    Member M1r0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Flo: You could restore from a Korean NAND build (maybe from modmii) in bootmii. Then reinstall homebrew... (though I'm not sure that there are any exploitable games) unless of course you have a mod chip, in which case mario pwns would work.
     
  14. flo
    OP

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Hungary
    M1r0, downloading a NAND with Modmii and flashing it with bootmii..i read it's possible but way over my head now , without any assistance
    Best way to test why DVD,HDD and Wi-Fi fail is to install a virtual NAND .
    So i'll try to get Sneek +DI working .

    Meanwhile , i'm open for other suggestions .
     
  15. M1r0

    Member M1r0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Flo: All you need to do is create a bootmii nand dump, open up the bootmii nand dump, generate nand with modmii, and then replace bootmii dump with new nand. Then seal back up into bin, and install using bootmii. More experienced helpers, please correct me if I'm wrong. SNEEK +DI may work as a tester. [​IMG]
     
  16. Donkey Plonk

    Member Donkey Plonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Personally I wouldn't do that. Whilst fairly safe, bootmii could still fuck up and that is your real nand.

    The sneek option sound much better to me. Do a clean nand dump, get sneek files, see if the clean nand works properly, if it does, then and only then, look into getting the keys stuck in the new dump and flashing it back with bootmii or just work out of emulated nand
     
  17. flo
    OP

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Hungary
    Sneek is a pain too . I'll try to get it working
    Meanwhile i managed to run some games from SD card ( formatted to WBFS ) and Neogamma . Yep that's right ! Seems that CFG USB Loader can do it too better than Neogamma , but it's always freezing at the IOS loading screen , and if it passes that screen freezes on the next one .
    Comparing my 2 consoles there's a big difference in how CFG loads .
    Maybe the KOR has a CIOS problem after all.. But i don't understand why..i tried almost everything
     
  18. Donkey Plonk

    Member Donkey Plonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Explain? Sneek isn't a pain?
    I struggled to get it working at first but that was due to modmii having an issue, once I had the right files, sneek was a breeze to get going
     
  19. flo
    OP

    Member flo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    Hungary
    I'm having issues with this one launching Sneek+DI .
    I downloaded a NAND with Modmii , added the 2 folders from the Sneek Installer , plugged a HDD with a game installed for Sneek , launch bootmii and blackscreen , it would last forever
    On my other console it boots fine .
    Tried the same with the simple Sneek

    What is wrong with this console ??
     
  20. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    Try running sneek without di
     

Share This Page