Hard drive wont load

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Richardarkless, Oct 5, 2010.

Oct 5, 2010

Hard drive wont load by Richardarkless at 12:25 AM (1,049 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Richardarkless
    OP

    Member Richardarkless GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I ran out of space on my current hard drive (250gb) and I decided to upgrade to a 500gb hard drive, the thing is ive set it all up properly but for some reason it freezes at the bit where the hard drive initialises

    I tried emulators and usb loaders and nothing, just freezes at that bit

    Does this mean the drive is incompatible or is there some workaround to get it to work?

    I got a philips SPE3051CC 3.5 Desktop hard drive

    Has anyone else had any experience with this drive

    heres an image of the drive btw

    http://www.storageupdates.philips.com/imag...spe3051_big.jpg

    I also checked the usb compatibility list and it wasnt in the table

    It took a couple of hours as well to get it all ready [​IMG]

    If no one has any suggestions then the best I can do is wait till it is supported and also to add the drive to the compatibility wiki so other people will know that it doesnt work so their time isnt wasted
     
  2. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    google FAT32 GUI Formatter
     
  3. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Tap it with a ballpeen hammer or attach a power magnet to it for extra speed boosts.
     
  4. KiiNG

    Member KiiNG GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    If you're totally sure you got it setup right, proper cIOS and whatnot, then it's probably the drive. Philips makes razors, televisions, total randomness, and.. computer parts. General rule of thumb, stick with companies that make computer parts, and computer parts.

    If you can afford the time, start over. Use GParted to format the drive to FAT32, hook it up (with no games on it.) Use a loader with FAT support and see if your Wii reads it. Try to install a game to it via the loader. If not, you just have a funky drive.
     
  5. Richardarkless
    OP

    Member Richardarkless GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yea I got it setup all right as my previous hard drive worked fine on fat32, the drive inside the external hard drive is a hitachi deskstar p7k500 and I thought that this was just rebranded as a philips and seeing as most hitachi drives work, I thought this one would as well

    Yea I did format as fat32 using gpared but I loaded all the games on before trying it out with the wii, I know that was stupid but it was late and I didnt fancy going downstairs to try it out
     
  6. KiiNG

    Member KiiNG GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    Is your drive set as "Active" on the partition table?
     
  7. Richardarkless
    OP

    Member Richardarkless GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yea I think it was, I also tried different linux partitioners, tried formatting it with the fat32 gui formatter in windows and still nothing

    What happens is

    Turn on wii> go to USB loader gx or wiiflow and it detects it (as the connect usb drive screen hasnt popped up) but the drive doesn't spin up and just freezes

    Also tried launching the USB loader and as soon as the connect hardrive screen appears and then plugging it in but it still freezes

    I'll probably just give up and revert back to my old drive
     
  8. dexter222

    Member dexter222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Land of Fruits and Nuts
    Country:
    United States
    When you first create the partition you need to create it as a "primary" partition, not an "extended" partition. Try recreating the partition and make certain you create it as a "primary" partition then format it FAT32.

    Good luck
     

Share This Page