Hackmii installer v0.5 released

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zektor, Sep 30, 2009.

Sep 30, 2009

Hackmii installer v0.5 released by zektor at 4:55 PM (19,491 Views / 0 Likes) 143 replies

  1. zektor
    OP

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    http://bootmii.org/

    Looks like not only the fix for v4.2 systems, but some very nice updates to the HBC!
     


  2. drbio

    Newcomer drbio Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Norway
    darn! I was just gonna post that [​IMG]

    Take that nintendo
     
  3. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow, that was fast.
     
  4. muzz

    Member muzz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Most Excellent!
     
  5. borissaid

    Member borissaid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Can someone post the changelog please? ... can't get there from where I'm at.
     
  6. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Buggy, buggy, buggy! I already had some errors... (After ejecting an SD card, it still let me switch between pages...even though they were completely blank...) and a crash (on the "loading" screen)

    EDIT: I love the shutdown function though [​IMG]
     
  7. soopa

    Member soopa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Windsor, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    if corps 3.4 is installed do I need to install ios36 wad then update then install cios 36 wad for corps again?
     
  8. Narolez

    Member Narolez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    <LAB#257>
    Country:
    Germany
  9. 1ronlung

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Great work again from the boys. Looks like all it needed was a quick fix changing the title id. The other features they've added to HBC must have been sitting in the wings ready to be released anyway.

    What really bothers me is the following:
    "The [boot 2 update] code [from Ninty] is so buggy that we decided to write our own for the HackMii installer.

    It’s really sad, but that wasn’t exaggerated at all. The first reports about bricks due to this official boot2 update are reported on Nintendo’s forums. Replies, which Ninty doesn’t like, are getting deleted. Anyway, it’s up to you if you want to risk it."

    I have mighty respect for the team, but is assuming thay can write code for the Wii in a few days, better than Ninteno themselves, a little egotistical ?
     
  10. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Needs more Arial. [​IMG]


    Sorry xd I had to. [​IMG]


    Well, after these two hiccups I had at first, it's fine now.
     
  11. screamq3

    Member screamq3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    installed mine no problems, done a new backup of my wii's nand, nice to be back safe lol installed as boot2 again [​IMG]
     
  12. svpe

    Newcomer svpe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Germany
    the code was not written "in a few days" but rather in a few months (remember the time from the first bootmii announcement to the final release date?). we actually used to use nintendo's code when we figured out that it has obscure bugs (e.g. not writing ecc data)
    so yes, out code is better. and no, that's neither arrogant not egoistical. it's a fact. our code reproduces ninty's behaviour minus bugs plus some minor changes (we only overwrite one of the two boot2 copies because we don't have ninty's private key, heh)
     
  13. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Ok...let's go:

    1) Where's the Bubble game? I can't acess it anymore...[​IMG]
    2) God, these Buttons are now small, I want 4:3 back [​IMG]
    3) Damm...Preloader, please update..I want direct boot [​IMG]
    4) Delete-Button sucks...
    5) Otherwise: Awesome [​IMG]
    6) Anyone noticed the new Title ID [​IMG]?

    Don't get me wrong, I like it (overall [​IMG]).
     
  14. john1010_ma

    Member john1010_ma GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Brazil
    So for the rest of us who have the old version of HBC and Bootmii, how do we install this latest update? By running Bannerbomb again?

    UPDATE: No need bannerbomb to update. Easiest way if you have wifi is to load HBC as usual and wait for the auto-update prompt. More details in readme if you download the newest Hackmii installer package.
     
  15. Buildingsite

    Newcomer Buildingsite Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Japan
    OK i'm a noob so please bear with me [​IMG]
    I downloaded the new hackmii, put it in the SD card as I did with v0.3, put it into my wii. I then go on SD card channels and.... nothing happens. Anyone please explain why that happened?? Thanks in advance

    EDIT: I'm a TOTAL noob
     
  16. uberjedi

    Newcomer uberjedi Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You just run the installer from the HBC, not the SD card menu. Just make sure the files are in the apps folder on your SD card. Should already be stated in the readme!
     
  17. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Now on the 4.3 they'll change the codes again and again and again...
    lol..

    I can almost see...a bootmii install with a button asking the ID's to avoid [​IMG]

    But from what i see...id's have changed...soo. Should we upgrade our instalation if we have a working FW4.1/Bootmii0.3 running?

    Thanks,
     
  18. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    J0DI
    [​IMG]
     
  19. bolex17

    Member bolex17 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Australia
    God!! too much stuff released in one day argh! so much stuff and so little time. [​IMG]
     
  20. Buildingsite

    Newcomer Buildingsite Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Japan

    Thank you so much for the quick reply
     

Share This Page