Hacking "Must Be On" Codes

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by thela_kid, Jul 25, 2010.

Jul 25, 2010

Hacking "Must Be On" Codes by thela_kid at 2:47 AM (1,367 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. thela_kid
    OP

    Member thela_kid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    The Void
    Country:
    United States
    Hey everybody at this wonderful forum, not sure if this was the right place to post this. I enjoy hacking my own codes but some games like New Super Mario Bros. require a Must Be On Code. Although I can download the cheat file maintained on this site, it does not apply to rom hacked versions. Any tips or links to how-to pages?? Thanks All [​IMG]
     
  2. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    do you mean there's no cheats for it?

    if so, it means that the cheat database doesn't support rom hacks, except with certain exceptions for certain translated games.
     
  3. thela_kid
    OP

    Member thela_kid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    The Void
    Country:
    United States
    I mean that I want to hack my own "Must Be On" code and would like to know how.
     
  4. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Is a code..
    is the ARDS fixed code (if i am not wrong)
     
  5. thela_kid
    OP

    Member thela_kid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    The Void
    Country:
    United States
    I noticed while trying to hack my own codes, they would not work. From cheats.gbatemp.net/Temp, the usrcheat.dat file has "Must Be On" code for NSMB that allows the other codes to work. However this MBO code doesn't work for rom hacks. It is this code I'm looking for. Sorry if it's confusing :/
     
  6. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i have no idea why do you need that code?
    the code is only needed if you are using the ARDS devices from datel
    if i remember things correctly, you don't need that code for flashcart/emulators

    the code enables a jump from 023807d40 to a specific address
    i assume that address is where the ARDS handler is located (hopefully, i used the right term)

    when you are talking abour ROM HACKS? i have no idea which one are you talking about
    i will assume you are also talking about Mario

    if you really keen on doing this yourself.... then you need to find out the following

    -where should it jump from on the hacked game
    -where should it jump to for both clean and hacked
    -calculate the jump for hacked game

    but why need it... if you are running on flash cart / emulators
     
  7. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    If I am reading you correctly you are wanting to cheat on NSMB with modified levels? The header CRC is fixed so that means the cheat engine doesn't recognize it as the same game. You have to use R4CCE to edit the dat and add the game ID and codes. Alternatively, you could use DSATM to apply the cheats.
     
  8. thela_kid
    OP

    Member thela_kid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    The Void
    Country:
    United States
    Ah thanks all that makes a lot of sense. Now I tried using the R4CCE to edit and the codes didn't work on the rom-hacked NSMB. However, my question about Must Be On codes have been answered, thank you!!! This is a wonderful community.
     
  9. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    glad that you think like this ...
    someone on the other hand just bombarded me and said....
    you only help the popular [​IMG]

    if the codes didn't work then you might need to hack it [​IMG]
    its not new that a patched/hacked rom might changes the original address
    since you said you could code then it should not be much problem for you to redo the work
     

Share This Page