Hacking Guitar Hero 5 from Disc Backup

NDSPhr34k

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
91
Trophies
0
XP
190
Country
United States
I've spent hours over the past few days and I simply cannot get Guitar Hero 5 to run from a backup disc on a softmodded Wii.

I have a 4.1U softmodded Wii using Waninkoko's IOSX Rev19, and Hermes cIOS v5.

I've read that the only way to get it to run off disc, without installing cIOSCORP, is to choose IOS 232 in SoftChip. I always get errors in red. I've tried installing Hermes v4, and v5. Neither work.

Is it even possible to run Guitar Hero 5 from backup disc???
 

Taleweaver

Storywriter
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
8,022
Trophies
1
Age
40
Location
Belgium
XP
6,148
Country
Belgium
Sure.

But first of...more info. Do other backup games work? What do you use to actually run your discs? And what kind of error message do you get?



Now...here's the basic stuff: music games need a different IOS than most games (IOS37). For Waninkoko's cIOS, this means installing rev19 with a base of 37. Hermes v4 should use a merge of 38 and 37...in Hermes v5, that's cIOS223, iirc.

I'm not very familiar with disc backups (I use USB myself), but I hear a lot of good stuff of the latest neogamma. In any case: you have to make sure the game actually USES the cIOS you installed (if you use the regular disc channel with a not-ciosCorp'ed wii, it'll boot with the default ios 37 instead of your prepared cios 223 or 249).

Hope this helps.
smile.gif




EDIT: I should probably mention I don't know anything of softchip or ios232.
 

dole

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Location
CONGRATURATION
Website
Visit site
XP
111
Country
United States
Yeah, I run all disc backups and I didn't have any problems with GH5 on 4.1U through Neogamma, IIRC. I'll try mine out tonight and see what my config's like, I've got an older Waninkoko's cIOS (v16 or 17?) and no Hermes at all. Might be something with that newer cIOS.
 

NDSPhr34k

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
91
Trophies
0
XP
190
Country
United States
NeoGamma can't load GH5 at all because it runs solely off IOS249.

From the bazillion threads online, GH5 needs 232 to work from Multicios or Hermes.

I've tried Hermes v4, and v5, and none of them work. I've tried every option possible for the past 2 or 3 days.

Today I ran multicios and install it to 232 and now the game can load but solely to a black screen. It never actually boots. I've tried SoftChip R99 and R101.

And all my other backups have worked. Every one of them. I have a 4.1U softmodded Wii with Waninkoko's cIOSX Rev19 and I use NeoGamma R8 RC6 as my loader.
 

NDSPhr34k

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
91
Trophies
0
XP
190
Country
United States
I just updated my Wii to SysMenu 4.2U using Dop-Mii v12.

So I am completely up-to date. All my IOSes also are up-to date now with all patches applied that were possible. I updated all IOSes using the IOS36 option in the beginning.
 

knaff

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
47
Country
Wanin Cios 249v19 base 37 works fine with Neogamma 7

Neogamma v8 RC3, Softchip, ULoader all didn't work

Same goes for Rock Band 2 and Beatles:Rock Band
 

NDSPhr34k

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
91
Trophies
0
XP
190
Country
United States
Okay!!!

I reinstalled Waninkoko's cIOSX Rev19 with base 37 and FINALLY GH5 runs in NeoGamma R8 R6. It froze up once so far, but besides that it has played good for the last hour.

Will I lose any backup functionality going from a base 57 install to a base 37 install? If so, is there ANYWAY to run them side by side?
 

Taleweaver

Storywriter
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
8,022
Trophies
1
Age
40
Location
Belgium
XP
6,148
Country
Belgium
I'm not sure how well other games work with CIOS37 rev19, but AFAIK, the main difference between 37 and 57 is that the latter has faster USB speeds and no second USB port (the music games need the second USB port for the microphone).

And it's certainly possible to run them side by side, though not that easy. It basically comes down to repacking your 37, reinstalling the cios with 57, and then using another program to install it to a different ios number (eg. 250...249 'll be taken up by the 57 base). Check this page for info...of course you'll have to follow it using 37 instead of 38.



(note: I haven't followed that guide myself, so I can't give better feedback than this).
 

NDSPhr34k

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
91
Trophies
0
XP
190
Country
United States
So far cIOS37 Rev19 works about 75% or the time. It does freeze on loading every now and then and if you leave the game on pause for too long.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • B-Blue @ B-Blue:
    nice vag
  • James_ @ James_:
    @ mods someone posted nsfw in general
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    picture above?
  • B-Blue @ B-Blue:
    8===D
  • MORSHU8KRTXON @ MORSHU8KRTXON:
    The picture is incomprehensible
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    idek what I'm looking at but if it's actually NSFW, please say so
  • DarthMotzkus tempBOT:
    DarthMotzkus has left the room.
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    not sure what i'm looking at
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's from Neural Blender, it generates random images: https://neuralblender.com/
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Remember that deep dream AI thing? This is similar.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    figured that much haha
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    @Veho, I've been having dreams that feel so realistic lately probably over
    new drugs though most are nightmareish
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Don't do drugs :teach:
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Big pharma says it's okay
  • Flame @ Flame:
    Drugs are Bad, Mkay?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Cheaper then street prices and can fuck you up quicker then a McJizzle
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    stay in drugs don't do school
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I wouldn't recommend buying drugs
    from JD that's why I am the way I am today
  • AsPika2219 @ AsPika2219:
    Pokemon Brillant Diamond, Shining Pearl and Legends Arceus got updates now! Watch the video!
  • Flame @ Flame:
    saw them earlier @AsPika2219
  • AsPika2219 @ AsPika2219:
    I just got it from Serebii website toda! :)
  • PapaMario28 @ PapaMario28:
    adfADf
  • MORSHU8KRTXON @ MORSHU8KRTXON:
    I still think the remakes will probably suck
  • Flame @ Flame:
    they most probably will
  • Flame @ Flame:
    im still gonna buy them
    Flame @ Flame: im still gonna buy them