Guide To Make GTA: CW Work on R4 Without Patching

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by EpicPie, Mar 19, 2009.

Mar 19, 2009
  1. EpicPie
    OP

    Member EpicPie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    For all of you R4 user's that are running your game off the arm7/arm9 patch here is a solution for you if you want to use wifi.

    Step 1. Install YSmenu onto your R4 flashcart.
    Guide on how to install it found here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=976...t=0&start=0

    Step 2. Put a clean GTA:CW rom (as in unpatched, trimmed, or modified in anyway) onto your R4. (You can still use your previous save)

    Step 3. Update your urscheat.dat file with the Bypass save error Action Replay Cheat.
    (If you are to lazy to manually put in the code your self download the Massive Cheat Compilation which is constantly updated.
    Thread found here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=84991 )

    Step 4. Start up your DS/DS Lite.

    Step 5. Go to your GTA:CW game.

    Step 6. Select the Bypass Save Error cheat (or whatever it may have been named)

    Step 7. Start the game.

    Wifi now works. [​IMG]

    - EpicPie

    Edit: If this could be pinned I would greatly appreciate it, every forum I go to for DS related stuff people constantly ask how to get wifi to work on GTA:CW without the game freezing on them. Here is the solution.
     
  2. jwcgator

    Member jwcgator GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Bad idea, Yasu doesn't like his software being distributed on other websites, and will actually cease development if it's being distributed on other websites.

    Better idea: tell us how you did it, and let people do it themselves.
     
  3. EpicPie
    OP

    Member EpicPie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I forgot about that sadly, thanks for reminding me.

    The guide has been updated.
     
  4. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    the ROM can be trimmed, as that does NOTHING to it, except save space.

    also, this guide works for DQ V, CT, and any other game needing a piracy bypass.

    basically, this is old news, really
     
  5. MG4M3R

    Member MG4M3R GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    Brazil
    Won't work for me...

    Using M3 Simply with YSMenu.

    When loading the room it gaves a error =p


    I will try patch it with the Bomberman 2 Arm7, some people says that it work.

    Edit: It only fixed the Wireless...

    Now it gives a error 92040...
     
  6. Jewls

    Newcomer Jewls Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Will the wifi/multicard-play work with other games too?
     
  7. hughjorgan007

    Newcomer hughjorgan007 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Since installing ysmenu on the r4 isnt as easy as it is made out. i've spent hours trying to get gta to work on r4 and this was the easiest way, wifi also works for me, im using r4ds sdhc with kernel 1.24.
    Download grand theft auto chinatown wars save fixv2 nds-ind.zip (google it).
    Extract the file
    Extract ind-gtafix.rar
    Open extracted folder
    Insert gta cw rom in folder
    Click xpa-gtac (ms-dos batch file)
    You will have xpa-gtac patched.nds
    Copy this to your games folder

    Although this is a patched file wifi works for me. Any promblems get in touch.
    What a great game.
     
  8. Tom

    Member Tom Gbatemp's Unofficial Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    New jersey
    Country:
    United States
    i did tht and the patched file size was 0 kb
     

Share This Page