Tutorial [Guide] Give Android OS Access to HOS_Data Partition

pcwizard7

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
1,405
Trophies
0
XP
1,647
Country
Australia
Why do you want this

You can share things like ROMs, thumbnails etc between android and HOS. Plus makes it easy to transfer things with your pc over usb

What you Need

- you will need root access (Magisk)
- Tasker

Method

- enable "Global Namespace" in Magisk Manager.
- open Tasker
- Create an event for "Device Boot" give it a name
- then create a task give it a name

In this task create steps to make it look like this with root access
Shell: su - mm
Shell: mkdir /storage/switch_sd
Shell: chmod 777 /storage/switch_sd
Shell: mount -o bind /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /storage/switch_sd
Shell: mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /storage/switch_sd

Enjoy
 
Last edited by pcwizard7, , Reason: fix guide

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,982
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,193
Country
Norway
It should be mounted inside /mnt/storage (/mnt/storage/switch_sd for example), that way normal apps can access it. At least that's the way it works on other devices... Most apps just won't see other mount points outside /mnt/storage.
 

tacticalcraptic

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 24, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
12
Country
United States
I feel like I have followed the guide pretty closely but once it tries to run the second shell command (mkdir), I get an error 127.
I have tried both:
mkdir /mnt/storage/switch_sd
mkdir /mnt/storage/switch sd


Same hang up. Any idea what I might be missing?

Thanks for the guide!
 

Rahkeesh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2018
Messages
2,108
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
2,685
Country
United States
FWIW I haven't had to do any of the tasker stuff with Android 10. Once root/magisk is installed every emulator I've tried has been able to navigate to mnt/vendor/factory and read and modify files there.


Now the next task would be to set up symlinks that redirect to HoS folders...
 

tacticalcraptic

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 24, 2021
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
12
Country
United States
FWIW I haven't had to do any of the tasker stuff with Android 10. Once root/magisk is installed every emulator I've tried has been able to navigate to mnt/vendor/factory and read and modify files there.


Now the next task would be to set up symlinks that redirect to HoS folders...

Hmmm, I must have done something wrong further down the line. Magisk says I have root access and I can access root folders but I cannot see mnt/vendor/factory I get as far as mnt/vendor/ but not factory. It doesn't matter if I am in RetroArch or file explorer apps like X-Plore, I cannot get any further.
 

Prb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
857
Trophies
1
XP
2,629
Country
United Kingdom
Hmmm, I must have done something wrong further down the line. Magisk says I have root access and I can access root folders but I cannot see mnt/vendor/factory I get as far as mnt/vendor/ but not factory. It doesn't matter if I am in RetroArch or file explorer apps like X-Plore, I cannot get any further.
go get root explorer by speed software install and open app press the menu (3 lines top left) select home scroll down near the bottom
mnt/vendor/factory
done

dont forget let it have root access when asked
 
Last edited by Prb,

LeyendaV

The One and Only
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
724
Trophies
1
Age
31
Website
heylink.me
XP
1,595
Country
Argentina
Why do you want this

You can share things like ROMs, thumbnails etc between android and HOS. Plus makes it easy to transfer things with your pc over usb

What you Need

- you will need root access (Magisk)
- Tasker

Method

- enable "Global Namespace" in Magisk Manager.
- open Tasker
- Create an event for "Device Boot" give it a name
- then create a task give it a name

In this task create steps to make it look like this with root access
Shell: su - mm
Shell: mkdir /mnt/storage/switch_sd
Shell: chmod 777 /mnt/storage/switch_sd
Shell: mount -o bind /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /mnt/storage/switch_sd
Shell: mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /mnt/storage/switch_sd

Enjoy
First step is su - mm or su -mm?
 

LeyendaV

The One and Only
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
724
Trophies
1
Age
31
Website
heylink.me
XP
1,595
Country
Argentina
This doesn't work for me. "storage" is directly at the root directory in Android 10 so remove "/mnt" from all your commands, then it works.

Edit: Also you have to check the "use root" in each shell step that you create.
Oh. My. GOD! Thanks a ton! I made it work now after doing exactly that!
Not every app seems to be able to read the root access tho, but it's definitely working!
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordelan

Sayshi

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 4, 2021
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
102
Country
New Zealand
Screenshot_20210826-161757_Tasker.png

Sadly I tried this and got the following error (127) like another user did earlier.

Does anyone know how to fix this? Any help would be much appreciated!
I've also checked root access for every step if that helps.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    NeoGaming @ NeoGaming: you are sus