1. TomJinWoo95

    OP TomJinWoo95 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Switzerland
    3DSRT.PNG 3DSRTE.PNG
    Based on 3DS Rom_Tool By 3DS_GUY
    You need .Net Framework 4 run this app.

    You can add multiple files. It supports English.

    Now To use this app , you must download the 3ds rom_tool by 3DSGUY(http://gbatemp.net/threads/3ds-rom-tool-rom_tool.349314/). Rename the rom_tool to "RT.exe" and put it to the GUI's directory.(My Apologies to add the original app.)

    Thanks to my friend Simon You to add dragdrop function! We're classmates.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Saturosias

    Saturosias thank
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    United States
    Is "Remove Upd[ate]" the same as changing minimum firmware to 1.0.0?
     
  3. KazoWAR

    KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,949
    Country:
    United States
  4. nukeboy95

    nukeboy95 Old skool member
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,275
    Country:
    United States
    dint you make a gui for this too?
     
  5. KazoWAR

    KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,949
    Country:
    United States
    I did, doesn't mean someone else can't make one too.
     
    3DSGuy, Syphurith and Rydian like this.
  6. pasc

    pasc Newbie

    What even is this tool for ?
     
  7. KazoWAR

    KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,949
    Country:
    United States
    its a tool that automates the command line commands of rom_tool
     
  8. tmactx

    tmactx GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
  9. Simon You

    Simon You Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Please pay attention to the #1
     
  10. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,359
    Country:
    France
    @TomJinWoo: Do not create multiple user account on the forum.
    You already have one, use it for all your post.


    edit:
    Why use the "update" in the name, instead of increasing the GUI version number?
    If you make a GUI, maybe you should only provide the GUI, not the Rom_Tool program, because:
    1- if you use the program version in your filename it's confusing (user don't know if you refer to RomTool version or GUI version)
    2- if ROM_tool is updated, your GUI file name version is outdated, even if new ROM_tool version is working with it.
    3- use/find a name for your GUI program, user can think you made ROM_Tool yourself as you provide it with "ROM tool" name, and no mention of "GUI".

    Don't include program from someone else without proper credit and version.
    Thank you.
     
    3DSGuy likes this.
  11. Simon You

    Simon You Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Actually account Simon You is not the same person to account TomJinwoo, my apologies.

    Your advice seems reasonable and I will talk to him about this, thanks.
     
  12. TomJinWoo95

    OP TomJinWoo95 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Switzerland
    OK, sorry for doing that. Now I change the post. Thanks.
     
  13. callmebob

    callmebob The Grandpa of Awe!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    732
    Country:
    Germany
    Tried this on the U.S. Donkey Kong release. Trimming appeared to work (Great if you only have a 4G micro SD) but removing the update gives a fail message.

    No way of actually testing either one yet so who knows. Haven´t tried any other releases yet.
     
  14. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,359
    Country:
    France
    Thank you for fixing your file name and its content ;)
     
  15. Technicmaster0

    Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,249
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I tried Cars 2 (yes, I want to play that) and it worked. But that's not problematic since the function doesn't even work.
     
  16. callmebob

    callmebob The Grandpa of Awe!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    732
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah, think I read somewhere that it wasn´t the actual update partition that was being targeted, but just some info about the update inside.

    Still if the trimming works that´s something. Maybe they can find and do something with the update partition in the future:unsure:.
     
  17. Pong20302000

    Pong20302000 making notes on everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Country:
    yea the update information it edits is only for reference and doesn't actually remove the update
    so its useless to edit that data

    still a rom trimmer / extender tool tho
     
  18. Saturosias

    Saturosias thank
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    United States
    Aha, I know the chances are extremely slim, but just posting this here as a reminder of sorts to myself, I guess -- if the update on the rom is lower than the version number of the 3DS but we change the "required" FW # on the rom to one higher than the 3DS, I wonder if it would prompt an "up"date.
     
  19. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,359
    Country:
    France
    I suppose it will prompt to update, if you accept it will apply the update (if there's no verification in the update process to see that you already have it installed), then prompt to update again.
     
  20. Pong20302000

    Pong20302000 making notes on everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Country:
    yellow8 confirmed that the Firmware Information this changes does nothing
    its was purely there for Developer Reference and is not read by the 3DS at all
     
    Saturosias and Cyan like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted