GTA Performance Issues

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by gramin, Apr 21, 2009.

Apr 21, 2009

GTA Performance Issues by gramin at 6:45 PM (1,063 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. gramin
    OP

    Newcomer gramin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Firstly, I'm using:

    DSi, AKAIO 1.4.1 with 17/4 dated loader. Transcend C6 4Gb, formatted with Panasonic Formatter.

    I've found that a clean (U) dump of this game runs rather choppy with DMA - Quicksave (default). I tested with default (green), blue and red modes. I found that red (old DMA) fixes all of the slowdown and poor performance I encountered.

    Thought I'd raise this issue for everyone, since not everyone has played this with a retail card and would know how the game is meant to run. For the most part the game is meant to be silky smooth.

    Just have to remember to hold x every time I want to play this without choppy performance.

    Another small annoyance is that I hear a lot of clicking noises in the audio (popping,) but this might not be strictly related to GTA, I hear it as the AK2i is loading up too.

    Cheers [​IMG]
     
  2. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    People have already noticed choppiness. Mainly when your wanted level is high. But some have claimed this happens in the original game (perhaps not so much), not just backups.

    And are you sure that noise isn't guns? [​IMG]
     
  3. gramin
    OP

    Newcomer gramin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    I've been getting choppiness when just driving around the city doing nothing with no cops on me. Old DMA mode seems to fix this (that is I didn't see it happen while testing).

    The popping noises happen before I boot CW up so it's not really related, just thought I'd mention it, since I do hear it a lot when going from the in game menu back to the game.
     
  4. themando

    Newcomer themando Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Today, I noticed my first choppy-ness after I practically had the whole city after me, but even then it wasn't that bad. I bet during those parts even an official cart might be pressured.
     
  5. zuron7

    Member zuron7 RBYG

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Location:
    GPS not available in this area
    Country:
    India
    sda ive got quite good quality
    i use edge on my ds lite
    must be cos of the dsi firmware
     
  6. gramin
    OP

    Newcomer gramin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    What software/hardware are you using? [​IMG]

    I just did another mission after loading the 20/04 loader file on. For the most part it was smooth, but I'm pretty sure it's quite random in how smooth the game runs. Sometimes I'll fire it up fresh, get in my car from the safehouse (the first one), and as I drive off the camera will pan around, sometimes this is smooth, sometimes it chugs, when it chugs I know the game is going to run poorly.

    Not sure why it's doing this.
     
  7. Kaoz360

    Newcomer Kaoz360 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    GTA Runs fine for me so far,Had no lag or choppy-ness or sound issues

    Using akaio 1.4.1 with the 20-04-09 loader on a sandisk 4g ultra class 6 card - GTA (U) Dump
     

Share This Page