1. dicamarques

    OP dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Country:
    Portugal
    I could play gta 4 on my pc but since 2 months ago it begun to have 1 frame per second (like in this video ) Its not from my hardware because i had 30+ fps and i didnt change anything on my pc. I already tried a clean install of windows, i have everything updated (i have the steam version btw) including drivers. Every other games run fine except gta 4 and EFLC.

    Anyone has the same problem??

    (Dont start with gta 4 was badly coded for pc, I already know that but having 1 FPS is not because of that)
     
  2. GamerzHell9137

    GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,017
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Have you updated the game?
     
  3. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Endless Trash
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    28,138
    Country:
    Poland
    Check if you're not running it in Power Saver mode and if you have an NVidia card or an Intel iX family processor, check if you're not running it on the integrated CPU. You can check the first in the Control Panel under the Power section, the latter in the NVidia Control Panel *or* just right-click on the shortcut and select the desired GPU you want to run it on. Such a huge FPS decrease must be related to hardware, so maybe your drivers got goofy and run it on the wrong GPU.
     
  4. dicamarques

    OP dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Country:
    Portugal
     
  5. dicamarques

    OP dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Country:
    Portugal
    Oh forgot the specs :P
    • Dual Core 2.00GHz (Oc to 2.7)
      Nvidia GT520
      3GB RAM
      Win7 32 and 64 bits
    My cpu doesnt have a gpu and im going to look on that thing of the power options (its a desktop anyways)
     
  6. Kouen Hasuki

    Kouen Hasuki Kouen the Cyber Husky
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    Norway
    Try resetting your overclock to rule it out
     
  7. dicamarques

    OP dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Country:
    Portugal
    Nop it is not because of the overclock (this started happening before i even try to overclock my cpu)

    And its not from poer saving options
     
  8. Kouen Hasuki

    Kouen Hasuki Kouen the Cyber Husky
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    Norway
    Tried rolling back to earlier graphics drivers?
    Checked the temps of your hardware in case its throttling back due to heat?
     
  9. AlanJohn

    AlanJohn くたばれ
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,766
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Find out what your GPU temperatures are.
    Also, in order to run GTA IV smoother you need to set the graphical settings higher, since that's the only way to force the game use the GPU.
     
    EZ-Megaman likes this.
  10. dicamarques

    OP dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Country:
    Portugal
    Gpu temps get to 40º (it has a HUGE heatskin and it has a fun pointing at her) cpu temps get to 70º
    Forgot to mention it seem gta barely uses my GPU (like 30 to 40%)
     
  11. Kouen Hasuki

    Kouen Hasuki Kouen the Cyber Husky
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    Norway
    CPU temp seems a bit high to me for a desktop. maybe you should look into helping to cool it better?
     
  12. Mantis41

    Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have ASUS Smart Doctor or ASUS Gamer OSD utilities installed? These can cause issues with some games.

    One other thing is make sure the windows power settings are set to performance. There are some buggy games where the CPU can remain in a power saving state while playing.
     
  13. dicamarques

    OP dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Country:
    Portugal
    Tbh not really, on idle they are at 40º, while plying bf3 for example i get to 70 - 75, dont forget im overclocking my cpu and i cleaned my fan and placed some new thermal paste recently (before i easily reched 85º)

    Nop and nop. And already checked the power preferences.

    The main issue i see here is my gpu is not used to the max, about 20% of it is used. Just to say i am seeing the temperatures and gpu usages using this widget: http://addgadgets.com/gpu_meter/ these apps are pretty accurated, reporting the same temperatures as speedfan.
     
  14. Minox

    Minox Thanks for the fish
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,850
    Country:
    Japan
    70-75C should be far from causing any sort of overheating issues. Such issues usually start occurring when the temperature is above 100C or so.
     
  15. Kouen Hasuki

    Kouen Hasuki Kouen the Cyber Husky
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,386
    Country:
    Norway
    Turn up your settings or try older drivers
     
  16. dicamarques

    OP dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Country:
    Portugal
    Already did that (got about 3 fps )

    Here's a benchmark I made
     

    Attached Files:

  17. dicamarques

    OP dicamarques Definitely not Bruce Wayne.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Country:
    Portugal
    Here is a video i recorded As you can see i have everything almost max, its the same, recording, not recording, max, minimum configs, i ALWAYS get 2fps, not even 1 more.
    And heres a video that i recorded when gta was running fine (ignore the speech its in portugues)
     
  18. GamerzHell9137

    GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,017
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Whoa! wait

    • Dual Core 2.00GHz (Oc to 2.7)
      Nvidia GT520
      3GB RAM
      Win7 32 and 64 bits
    These specs can't run the game on 1920 x 1080.
    That's overkill! Lower ur resolution and try again.
     
  19. gifi4

    gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Country:
    I know that even running a GTX 580, games don't react nicely to anti aliasing/anstropic filtering. My advice, turn it off/ as close to off as possible.
    It does cause slow downs, not to 1FPS but it may possibly help...
     
  20. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,457
    And I was concerned that GTAIV was heating me to almost 75 degrees on a laptop. Good to know lol.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - stupid, Going,