Good internal HD

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Technik, Aug 29, 2009.

Aug 29, 2009

Good internal HD by Technik at 4:19 AM (722 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    I have recently received a computer from one of my relatives and because he likes to waste money instead of fixing the computer because it was messing up for some reason he bought a new one then took out the hard drive of the old one destroyed it then threw it away. So my plan is to fix it then have my very own computer. So because of the random destroying of the hard drive I have to buy a new one which totally destroys the spirit of chirstmas in August. Now i'm wondering if certain desktops only use certain hard drives but more inportantly which one should i get? My price is $50-60 ish and am wanting around 250-500gb of space. Help MEH! [​IMG]
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
  3. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    But will it work in any desktop?
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    idk

    you never specified if you needed a PATA or a SATA drive
    PATA is the giant grey ribbon cable,
    SATA usually is connected from a thin cable that is usually red, but can be other colors

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    and these are the power plugs, the white one is a molex for the PATA drive, and the black is for the SATA drive

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    +1 wd drives. 5 year warranty on certain hard drives. and they'll recover your data most of the time unless you've done something to the harddrive to make the data unrecoverable.

    in any case you should be able to buy an ide to sata adapter.
     
  6. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    I cant tell but heres a pic of where the hard drive would go

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
  8. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. Since the os is stored on a hard drive what will happen when i put it in and nothings on it?
     
  9. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    It'll tell you that you don't have an OS.
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    what do you mean?

    you have to install the OS first before yo do anything, they you can put on it whatever you want, games, music, various programs, and other thing (pirated games and porn [​IMG] )
     
  11. Technik
    OP

    Member Technik GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    So i would have to get a windows reinstall thingy or what? I also have a windows 7 iso i could put on a dvd or something.
     
  12. nico445

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes if the computers is good enough for windows 7 you can burn that. then install the hd insert the dvd and boot it.
     

Share This Page