Hacking Question Going up from 3.0

darkflame808

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I have a question for the knowledgeable gurus. I got my sx pro and am running sx os 1.2. I am going to be updating from 3.0 to possibly 3.1 or 4.1 depending on the games I decide to backup. I wanted to know if there are any guides or suggestions I should consider taking. I'm not familiar with burning fuses or backing up my emmc? So simply put, should i just not care and update normally or should i do it via sx os and backup? Better to ask the pros rather than regret it later. Thank you everyone. I'm a noob but I do have experience in modding back to Xbox days. I can follow a technical tutorial if you can recommend any. Thank you again everyone.

Lumince

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Well the way you should go is dependent on how you feel.

If you want to be able to downgrade back to 3.0 whenever you want, follow this guide-https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-install-run-any-switch-firmware-unofficially-without-burning-any-fuses.507461/

Please not that if you install 4.0 or above and then downgrade, you cant play any games from the card reader. This is because your card reader gets updated when installing 4.0 or above. So going to 3.0.1. To play Mario will be fine.

Bad news is, if you DO NOT WANT AUTORCM, this is not the guide for you. This would make your switch boot into RCM automatically and you would need something to boot cfw up and can no longer boot normally with the switch. So it your switch powers off while you are out and about and you dont have an android phone that supports OTG to send the payload via nxloader? Then your screwed until you get home.
-edit- I see you have a sx pro. This is what I get for skimming... you'd be fine. I used the guide and have 0 issues with autoRCM. Just make sure to boot briccmii up at the end of the guide to repair cust_data. This info is at the top of the guide but should be done after fake updating.