Getting SNES/NES stuff onto a Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ropeadope, Aug 17, 2008.

Aug 17, 2008
  1. ropeadope
    OP

Newcomer ropeadope Member

United States
    Hey guys. I'm pretty new to running "homebrew" stuff on the wii. I was hoping to put a bunch of SNES/NES games on a disc (got the files for that already) and be able to play them on my Wii. Not really sure how exactly though. I do have the Wiikey installed, and gamecube controllers to play with though. It looks like they have made versions of the FCEU and SNES9X emulators specifically to boot on the wii, but it looks like they're made to run off an SD card, which I don't have. Was hoping to just to put in a CD and have them boot from there. What's the easiest way for me to do all that? Also want the two player option and graphic filters would be nice (I'm getting greedy, but the SuperEagle graphics filter really makes NES stuff look a lot better [​IMG] )

Thanks.

2. felix123

Member felix123 GBAtemp Regular

New Zealand
    The Wii can't read CDs.

3. Edgedancer

Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

Australia
    Believe me when I say that getting a sd card will be the easiest way to do homebrew. Not sure in America but sd cards are dirt cheap here in australia so just gett one of them as they will also be able to hold more data than a CD.

4. Tichinde925

Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

United States
    I'm not so sure on how long this sale will last:

Code:
    http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2253809
    2 GB SD Card!

5. ropeadope
    OP

United States
    CDs...DVDs...same thing [​IMG] - Nah I know the difference. I still call DVDs CDs all the time though. I got plenty of DVD-RWs lying around.

Emulation on the wii isn't possible without an SD card? I can play backup gamecube games on my Wii just fine.

6. kedest

Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

Netherlands