Getting an Acekard 2i...

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by iTStorm, Dec 11, 2011.

Dec 11, 2011

Getting an Acekard 2i... by iTStorm at 4:19 PM (1,076 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    Alright, so I bought an Acekard 2i and a TTDS (as a backup, so if anything happens to my Acekard, I can do the swapping thing for flashing the bootloader) from Coolgadgetsgift.com, which is on Acekard's reseller list.

    1. I recently bought a Transcend 8GB Class 2 MicroSDHC card, but is it enough? I saw a person saying that you should at least have class 4.. and I can't get a refund for the card since I bought it from a store that doesn't give refunds (I live in India, and we don't really take refunds..)

    2. Can I unbrick the Acekard 2i using a TTDS (with the swap method)?

    That's pretty much all my questions.. If someone could answer them it would be appreciated.
     
  2. rook2King

    Newcomer rook2King Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    Should be fine, i have a Sandisk Class 2 8gb microsd and games play on my acekard just fine.
     
  3. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    You should have no problem using the DSTT to fix a bricked Acekard 2i, if it happens.
     
  4. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    That's good to know, also when converting saves (No$GBA to Acekard 2i Compatible) using the Shunyweb converter, its No$GBA (.sav) to Acekard 2 | CycloDS | (etc.) right? Since I already started my Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia, I would like the same save.

    Also, where do I place the save file?
     
  5. Sinistral89

    Member Sinistral89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah No$GBA to Acekard 2 is the right way to go.

    You place the saves in the same directory as the roms. Just make sure they have the same name (ABCD.nds / ABCD.sav)
     
  6. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    Thanks for answering, could a mod lock this?
     
  7. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    AceKard already uses a raw save type, so converting it to AceKard 2i format should normally not be needed.
    Of course, that is only if you were using a Raw save type in NO$GBA. If you were using Compressed or Uncompressed, then you'd have to convert it.
    But it'd be easier to just set the "SAV/SNA type ==" line in NO$GBA.INI to "Raw" instead of "Compressed/Uncompressed"; the emulator should be able to load compressed save files anyway and automatically convert them to raw.
     
  8. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    Will try that out now. But the Shunyweb converter method still works right?

    Also, can I directly update the bootloader? From the original bootloader to 3.0.0-5U.
     
  9. eggsample

    Member eggsample punahussy

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Poland
    Check AK2i's HWID (hardware id) if it's 81. If so, you can do update.
     
  10. iTStorm
    OP

    Newcomer iTStorm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    India
    Yep it is, + I just got my Acekard today, time to have some fun :)
     

Share This Page