geckoOS + RGB = red

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sjeps, Aug 27, 2008.

Aug 27, 2008

geckoOS + RGB = red by sjeps at 10:07 PM (2,550 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. sjeps
    OP

    Newcomer sjeps Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Italy
    Why geckoOS running a game with RGB cable on pal tv shows a completely red screen?

    Solutions? Update of geckoOS?
     
  2. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're playing an NTSC game on a TV that can't handle NTSC signals, I would assume. Try to force it to use PAL60 or PAL50...
     
  3. Prisoner

    Member Prisoner GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Italy
    this "bug" will never be solved...

    as Nuke (the creator of GeckoOS) stated, the problem is in the games, because RGB Scart signal isn't contemplated on NTSC Wii games...

    so, if you want to play NTSC games on PAL TVs that support 60Hz, you have to use the composite, or you will have the red screen....


    the best would be component cable and 480p, but I assume you can't use it...
     
  4. CambridgeGuy

    Member CambridgeGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
    ...or you can use the color fix version of geckoOS. this will output an RGB SCART compatible PAL signal.
     
  5. Prisoner

    Member Prisoner GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Italy
    could you post it?

    I couldn't find it on the usbgecko forum...


    EDIT:
    nevermind...found...

    http://www.usbgecko.com/files/geckoOS16dcf.zip
     
  6. CambridgeGuy

    Member CambridgeGuy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Ireland
    better still, you could use starfall, which will make your system menu region free. this will also boot all games with PAL video.
    ...unless of course you change it to NTSC using AnyRegion Changer.
     
  7. Prisoner

    Member Prisoner GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Italy
    but the region free within Starfall I know it's still a little bugged....so it's still better to use GeckoOS..
     
  8. sjeps
    OP

    Newcomer sjeps Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Italy
    tried and doesn't work. it seems to be just for black and withe screen problems such jap to ntsc i think
     
  9. Prisoner

    Member Prisoner GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    Italy
    try forcing the PAL50 with 1.06d color fix
     

Share This Page