GBAExpLoader question

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by snowkrash, Aug 20, 2008.

Aug 20, 2008

GBAExpLoader question by snowkrash at 2:09 PM (1,901 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. snowkrash
    OP

    Newcomer snowkrash Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Feel free to bitch slap me but I can't seem to find an answer to this question. I use GBAExpLoader on my DS and all the games run fine, but is there a way to use cheat codes on GBA games?
     
  2. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think there is, not through the GBAEploader anyway.

    Bitch-slap not required for such a sensible question.
     
  3. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    There's that old GABSharkY tool that a subset of Game Shark codes worked on which basically patches the codes into the ROM.
     
  4. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    I think you have to patch them or something. Not really sure though.
     
  5. jy2

    Newcomer jy2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you wanted to get items or something in Pokemon or the like, I guess you could do your cheating in Visualboy and just copy the save file over to the EZ Flash or whatever!
     
  6. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    You can insert custom trainers into the rom or use VBA to save a cheated game and write it to your card. Other than that, no way sadly. It'd be a cool feature for a future loader to implement. Maybe it could read a Cheat file and load it with the GBA rom.

    In all honesty though, it's probably better without it. I've gotten much better at games without the temptation of cheats and it's more rewarding knowing you accomplished something without them! [​IMG]
     
  7. Fun_Zephyr

    Member Fun_Zephyr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    The M3 Real with GBA Expansion Pak allows you to use cheats. You just have to have the relevant cheat file on the memory card and select it. They are in the form of CHT files and it should be a separate file for each game.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. snowkrash
    OP

    Newcomer snowkrash Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for all your help guys - appreciate it.
     

Share This Page