GBA 'saves?' disappears

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by aboreal, Aug 25, 2012.

Aug 25, 2012

GBA 'saves?' disappears by aboreal at 11:35 AM (1,425 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. aboreal
    OP

    Newcomer aboreal Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Spain
    Hi there, first of all, Im using M3 Real with GBA Expansion Pack. Games from DS works perfectly, but im having some trouble with saving GBA games.

    Specifically with "Castlevania: Circle of Moon". I play normally the game for some hours and then I save the game (NO RTS). After saving, I turn off the NDS. My suprise appears when I turn on the NDS, run the the GBA game and the 'save' its gone! it has disappear! So I have to start a new game...


    Can anyone give me a solution?


    cheers!
     
  2. redfalcon

    Member redfalcon GBATemp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Germany
    You have to turn on the NDS immediately after you turned it off. The Expansion doesn't have any permament memory and requires to copy the save over to the MicroSD. I suggest using the GBA ExpLoader for loading the Roms, since it supports multiple save states which can come in handy if something goes wrong. Just restart the NDS after you turned it of, and open the ExpLoader again. It will prompt you to store the save on the expansion pack.
     
  3. aboreal
    OP

    Newcomer aboreal Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Spain
    Thank you so much redfalcon.

    Another question if you dont mind: I have downloaded the GBA Exploader which contains one file (GBA_ExpLoader_v0.58b_unexcluded.ips). Where I have to put that file? Maybe in the mini-sd root? Something else?


    CHEERS!
     
  4. redfalcon

    Member redfalcon GBATemp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Germany
  5. aboreal
    OP

    Newcomer aboreal Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Spain
    Thanks again for your help. I have some other questions:

    - Using GBA ExpLoader, ¿I need to do the process about "turning off - turning on" ?

    - The first file you gave me (GBA_ExpLoader_v0.58b_unexcluded.ips), its uselful for something?



    Cheers!
     
  6. redfalcon

    Member redfalcon GBATemp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Germany
    1. Yes, you still need to turn it on again (and start ExpLoader), but it will offer you multiple save slots. Which I would use, since IF something goes wrong, you still have an earlier save. And after you saved to a slot, wait a few seconds, just to be sure. It's unfortunately a bit fiddly to use the expansion.
    2. The *ips file is just a patch so the program works with M3 cards, but it is included in the second version I linked
     
  7. aboreal
    OP

    Newcomer aboreal Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Spain
    Thank you so much.

    Do you know any tutorial for GBAExpLoader? There are a lot of option that I would like to know...


    Cheers!
     
  8. redfalcon

    Member redfalcon GBATemp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Germany
    None that I am aware of. Just ask if you have any questions.
     
  9. maczilla

    Member maczilla GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Burma
    I got a question, im in the same position as the OP.
    Im not sure if im doing something wrong, but Its not saving in gbaexploader still, in say mario super circuit, after a save point it says "data could not be saved". other games like advanced wars is giving me the same issue.
     

Share This Page