GBA On DSi

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by TwinBlades, Apr 17, 2009.

Apr 17, 2009

GBA On DSi by TwinBlades at 12:49 AM (1,172 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. TwinBlades
    OP

    Member TwinBlades GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    778
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I dont know if this topic has already been made but has any of the new flash cards that work on DSi able to play gba rom? I havent tried this as I'm waiting for Cyclods.

    Edits: I'm asking this because the DSi has more Ram am I correct?
     
  2. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    The DSi does not have a slot 2. The slot 2 was the GBA slot. There are no GBA emulators for the DS. So as of right now, no, you can't play GBA on DSi.
     
  3. SonicRax

    Member SonicRax Egg-Mayo: The Movie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ... No Slot-1 flashcard can play GBA games. At all. Sorry, but that's just how it is right now. ._.
     
  4. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Even if it would be possible, someone has to unlock DSi mode outside of running official DSi programs. Then someone would have to actually create a GBA emu for the DSi, or hope the DSi still has the GBA hardware in it to run them.

    Another thing is that the DSi STILL doesn't really have enough RAM for many GBA games. It only has 16megs and some GBA games are 32meg, so you would be limited to games of 16meg or less.

    My guess is that if any GBA games appear for the DSi, they will have to be re-worked to run in the limited memory of the DSi and will be made available through the DSware store......as in, you will have to PAY for them.
     
  5. TwinBlades
    OP

    Member TwinBlades GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    778
    Country:
    Korea, South
    So... this means that there should be a stickied thread that says NO GBA CAN BE PLAYED ON THE DSI right? Like wat you said Rayder, even tho if the flash card were able to play the gba roms, the DSI still doesn't havent enough ram.
     
  6. Kuschel-Drow

    Member Kuschel-Drow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Duisburg
    Country:
    Germany
    Doh... reading this I think I'll NEVER EVER get a DSi... I don't need the DSi ware, I don't need the cameras... I've been so disappointed when it came out that the GBA slot is missing in order to make the DSi more flat... Honestly... The DS Lite itself is TOO flat to play with big hands... I always have to apply a transparent plastic case in order to give it a better hold...

    And well the DSi doesn't even provide a slot for a ram expansion pack anymore... [​IMG]

    Too sad Nintendo didn't take the ideas of many flashkarts out there for their new DSi and give it more useful abillities than only a camera... I mean... no video no mp3's at all... imho it's plain useless. People who own a normal DS and do not even know the possibillities of a flashkart may be fine with it if the do not play GBA games anymore... *sighs*

    I was really following the illusion that someone could make a good GBA emulator for the DSi one day, but with the restriction to some roms, where most of those that I use wouldn't be playable anymore... You ruined my hopes! [​IMG]
    (Ah well... better now then later xD) And then... you even saved me 170€... [​IMG]
     
  7. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think sometime in the future we will be able to. Once Nintendo release Virtual games through the DS Store (similar to the Wii), I think there's a pretty good chance GBA games will be available. It may require more than the flash cards we currently have, but I think it can be done.
     
  8. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As mentioned above - I also guess that Nintendo will eventually release GBA games on DSWare.
    I would also hazard a guess that since they've now allowed the Wii to allow 'Channels' to be run from the SDslot - they are also going to plan running DSWare from the slot as well

    Once THAT happens - I guess it won't be long before some clever so-&-so will figure out how to run GBA Roms also from the SDSlot, & the SDslot will then 'replace' the Slot-2 on a DSLite/Phat

    Time will tell
     

Share This Page