GBA Movie Player SD Version HELP!

Discussion in 'GBA - Console and Game Discussions, Help and Tips' started by thebib62, Dec 5, 2010.

Dec 5, 2010
  1. thebib62
    OP

    Newcomer thebib62 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, i bought a GBA Movie Player (SD Version) and it did not come with the installation CD, I've tried searching on google but didn't find anything for my version.
    Does anyone here have or know where i can get the correct files for my GBA movie player (SD version) to work correctly? At this time, there's nothing on the SD card, resulting in a Game Boy logo w/out the nintendo logo at the bottom when inserted into my GBA sp.

    Thanks a lot to anyone who can help.
     
  2. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
  3. thebib62
    OP

    Newcomer thebib62 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    That is if i wanted to play NDS homebrew games on my NDS, but i want to play movie files on my GBA SP & Micro. Plus, it isn't even the SD version, the link you posted is for the CF version.
     
  4. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    No one is going to put in the effort to help you if you get narky at them.
     
  5. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Here's the movie converter
    http://www.mediafire.com/?4wgarkqg1y9ahs4

    Let me know if this works for you.
    You'll have to do a little digging to find the last sd firmware.
    btw you can't play homebrew on the sd version or use cracked firmware. That's for the cf version only.
     
  6. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,449
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Not sure about the SD version, but the CF version boots even when the CF card is missing or empty, and then tells you that the card or system files can't be found. If it doesn't even get to the error screen (and you said you just get the Gameboy logo, like there's no cartridge inserted), that might mean there's something wrong with the contacts. [​IMG]
     
  7. thebib62
    OP

    Newcomer thebib62 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    sorry for double post
     
  8. thebib62
    OP

    Newcomer thebib62 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm, i hope there's nothing wrong with it, but i'm sure, that does sound like a thing that should happen, but doesn't.
    Then again i have a m3 ds simply and it doesn't boot or show an error message if there isn't a micro sd card in it, so yeah....im confused about that, lol
     
  9. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I never used the SD version, but I'm fairly sure that software for the CF version was stored on the gbamp itself.
     
  10. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,449
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Here's what I get when there's no card present:

    [​IMG]

    But yeah, like spinal_chord said, the firmware is on the GBAMP itself, it should run even without the files on the SD card. And if you're not getting the Nintendo logo on the boot screen, I think it's the contacts. Try reinserting the cartridge a few times, or cleaning the contacts.
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i have the CF version and i've been having the exact same problem. i opened it up and found a bent pin, but the CF card is still making correct contact to the pins. if you figure this out PLEASE PM me and let me know.

    -another world
     
  12. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    With the Mini SD version I picked up used, I had to open it up, and make sure the pins were set. Be careful as they are a touch on the fragile side. I ended up mounting a Mini SD adapter permanently in the right place on the pins. From there it's now as simple as sliding a Micro SD in and out, without touching the inside pins again.
     
  13. knutsky

    Newcomer knutsky Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    Here you can get all you ever need for your Device.

    And here
    I did upload the very last Update for the MPA-SD.
    Just follow the Readme.

    Have fun.

    Edit:

    You cannot use SDHC-Cards with the GBAMP.If inserted one ,it will Display "Warning! Can not find Card.Please shut down and insert a Secure Digital card.Or press Start to continue anyway."
    If you boot up the GBAMP without card at all,it will display a black Screen after Gameboy-Logo.After a long time sometimes there appears the same text as with SDHC inserted.
    SD-Card must be formated as FAT.
     
  14. zobohause

    Newcomer zobohause Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Andorra
    link are dead... can anyone repuload?
     

Share This Page