GBA games wont load m3 ds real

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by kutarr, Sep 3, 2010.

Sep 3, 2010

GBA games wont load m3 ds real by kutarr at 10:07 PM (3,248 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. kutarr
    OP

    Newcomer kutarr Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    DS games play fine, but when i try to load a GBA game it freezes on the loading screen
    I have reformatted sd card and reinstalled the latest version of sakura.
    it makes a save file on the sd card.
    i have tried to use it on two different ds's.
    m3ds real perfect

    any help would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. CocoaMac

    Newcomer CocoaMac Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using an expansion pack?
     
  3. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia

    +1



    In no, then stop trying, it won't work.
     
  4. kutarr
    OP

    Newcomer kutarr Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    yes and when I try to load without it it says xpac required
     
  5. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Is it the M3 Rumble RAM pack rather than the M3 GBA exp pack?

    GBA won't work on the first one.
     
  6. kutarr
    OP

    Newcomer kutarr Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    yes it is the gba expansion pack and not the rumble pack
     
  7. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    Mine booted up first time.

    Some games won't work, however. Have you tried a few different games?

    Or clean the contacts. Insert the cart and reinstert it a few times.

    The roms end in .gba, yes?
     
  8. kutarr
    OP

    Newcomer kutarr Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    yes they end in .gba and ive tried multiple games
     
  9. Yohko86

    Newcomer Yohko86 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Lyndbaum
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have options like "Soft Reset/Restart" on? Sometimes having extra options on like that in certain games will stop them from loading.
     
  10. kutarr
    OP

    Newcomer kutarr Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    should all games be set to fast load or does it depend. i am getting some games to load by changing to fast load rather then patch load
     
  11. Yohko86

    Newcomer Yohko86 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Lyndbaum
    Country:
    United States
    Weather you use "Fast Load" or "Patch Load", most GBA games should load up fine. Although if you try to run a game through the "Patch Load" option, it takes longer to load. This is especially true with games who sizes are 64Mbit and over (these could take upwards of a minute to fully load, if not a little longer). So your games might not have been freezing, just loading for a very long time!

    But according to M3, running a game in Patch Mode simply allows for use of the necessary patches to use cheats and RTS, and it'll also apply any other patches the game may require to run; Fast Load is meant to load a GBA game faster. I have an M3i Zero and in the past, I've alternatively used both modes to run my GBA games until I finally just started running them all in Fast Mode because I didn't want to wait long to play my games, so I myself haven't noticed any difference.

    I surmise that the only viable reason for Patch Mode is for games that strongly require a patch to run it in the first place (this is probably true for some homebrew games). [​IMG] But like I said before, I've ran my games in both modes before and haven't noticed any differences.
     
  12. absinthee

    Newcomer absinthee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Go here:
    http://www.no-intro.org/tools.htm

    Download GBATA. Launch the program and load your rom. Now click on SRAM Patcher and patch your rom. If you are patching any Pokemon game apply the Clock Fix to your patched rom. Put the patched rom on your card and play.

    You need to do this to get most GBA games to play on the M3.
     
  13. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    If you're using Sakura you need to open the rom options before you try to load the game by highlighting the game and pressing "Y" or dragging the rom to the left when selecting it. This will say creating save file and open up a new window from there you can go back to the list of games and select the game to load it and it should work fine. If you did that to select fast load and think that's why they are working it's likely the reason they are working is because it created a save file when you did that. If you're using touchpod then I honestly couldn't tell you why it would do that.
     

Share This Page