gba emulator for nds?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by starboy64, Sep 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Sep 21, 2011

gba emulator for nds? by starboy64 at 7:52 AM (2,219 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. starboy64
    OP

    Newcomer starboy64 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    CAN ANYONE MAKE A GBA EMULATOR 4 DS?
    IS IT NOT POSSIBLE?
    GBA HAS A _____ 16.8 MHz 32-bit ARM7TDMI with embedded memory PROCESSOR
    &
    DS HAS ____ Two ARM processors ARM946E-S main CPU; 67 MHz clock speed. ARM7TDMI coprocessor; 33 MHz clock speed.

    BOTH THE PROCESSORS OF DS HAVE HIGHER CLOCK FREQUENCY THAN THE GBA ONE.
    STILL WHY IS IT NOT POSSIBLE TO HAVE A GBA EMULATOR FOR DS?
    DS HAS MORE BETTER SPECIFICATION THAN GBA
    SO......CAN ANYONE PLEASE TRY TO MAKE A GBA EMULATOR PLEASE????
     
  2. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    ...must not succumb to troll...
     
  3. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Question Answer = No.
    If you just read around you would
    have found out it is impossible.
    I'll report this to Xuphor to be closed.
     
  4. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This has been answered so many times its had its own sticky for about 3 years. Data transfer from slot-1 isn't fast enough. Plus you don't just need a more powerful machine to emulate another system, you need a much more powerful system. You need a card with a built in emulator and extra CPU ike a SCDS2 or a slot-2 card in your GBA slot, if your DS model has one.
     
  5. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I WILL USE ALL CAPS SO THAT PEOPLE WILL READ THIS!!!!!!!!!!!

    To emulate a different (or even similar) machine, a system needs to be much, much better than the one it is emulating. Take for example, the SNES, which is less powerful than the GBA and yet has not been properly emulated on the NDS. Even the Commodore64, which only has 1mhz processor, has not been emulated properly.
    There is no way that the NDS alone can emulate the GBA with any reasonable level of quality. There is an emulator in the works, which needs the extra power of the DSi and it still an not emulate the GBA to any useful degree.

    If you want to play GBA backups on your DS without buying a slot-2 cart, which is the only good way to do so, then you must buy a slot-1 cart which has extra hardware, such as the Supercard DSTwo. The DSTwo can run at around 400mhz, but even then, it struggles with some GBA games.

    If playing GBA games is so important you could buya GBA and stop complaining about something that has been discussed about 300 times in the past, may you could even read through some of the forum posts about the topic before demanding that the impossible be done.
     
  6. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Actually now that I think about it wasn't there a GBA emu made by someone here
    which runs homebrew (just)?
     
  7. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Runs about 5% of the homebrew for gba with varying degrees of success (Ichifly is the dev).
     
  8. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Assuming that he wants it for pirating.
    If so Answer= No still.
     
  9. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page