GBA clone with built in games

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by TrolleyDave, Jul 21, 2009.

Jul 21, 2009
  1. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.23834

    I came across this on another forum and then forgot all about it, meant to post about it when I first saw it. Has anyone got one of these? The complaints about it not being full speed kind of put me off a bit but it might be worth owning for the novelty value.
     


  2. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    You would be better served getting a Dingoo A320 or an OpenPandora (if they ever finish those).
     
  3. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've already got a proper GBA, it's just the novelty thing that appeals to me. I gotta admit that I wouldn't mind a Dingoo though. I haven't kept up with the Pandora recently, haven't they started shipping yet?
     
  4. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    found a list on DX of games included

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    and apparently its backlit and cannot run any games that have additional hardware like the Sun Games and tilt games such as Yoshi Topsy Turvy etc [​IMG]

    might be worth the £33 just for the built in games ?!

    anyone willing to take a risk!? lol

    edit: If i could be sure it would work with my EZ III cards then I would get one [​IMG]

    edit 2:

    found a couple of vids

    list of games



    side by side comparison with real GBA



    a full review here

    edit 3: apparently from the review it runs about 15% slower bummer! [​IMG]
     
  5. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    if you have a GBA (or the other 2) already it seems like a complete waste of money

    but yea a Dingoo A320 would be a better choice (way better) or if you can afford it just get a psp and hax it and you dont have to worry about gba/snes games and such not going full speed
     
  6. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's more for the novelty value and my collection, basically the same reason that I've got a Megadrive, Megadrive 2 and a Scorpion (a Megadrive clone) plus I've picked up a couple of Famiclones along the way. Don't know why but I'm a sucker for hardware clones if they're half decent. I still want one of those SNES/NES Twin Duo clone machines even though I've already got a Super Famicom and a PAL SNES.
     
  7. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    yeah I'm sure I saw one that does Megadrive/Genesis and Master system in the one console like the Snes/Nes duo hybrid?!


    I have loads of retro consoles too Dave! ..... lol must be our age generation that we all kinda collect that kinda retro stuff [​IMG]
     
  8. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've not seen that MD/Genesis/MS machine but I'm going to hunt one down now! I think you're right about it being a generation thing, any console I get I tend to hoard but my nephew flogged his Xbox as soon as he got his 360. I asked him why and he just shrugged and said "Don't need it now, the 360 has better graphics"! I asked him won't he miss playing his favourite Xbox games and he just said "No, cos the 360 has better graphics"! I obviously ain't had enough of an influence! I can never understand the people who give up the previous generation consoles when they get a new one, all those great games you lose out on. It'll take death to make me give up my console collection! lol
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    well the 360 can play the popular xbox games anyway
    I think MS just wanted to get rid of the original xbox asap

    my ps2 is still hooked up though with my ps3 (mainly cause my ps3 cant play ps2 games and the ps2 is hacked)

    I dumped the GCN though since wii can play the games as well and the controller and MC's still work
     
  10. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's problems with the Xbox games played through the 360 though as far as I know, like graphic and sound glitches. So it's not quite the same as playing them on the Xbox. The Wii and GC is different though, the GC games run 100% on it don't they? The Wii contains the actual hardware/bios doesn't it and isn't just emulating it like the 360 does?
     
  11. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    lol we have (that i can remember and that's not in the attic stored until we get a bigger house!)

    Atari 2600 (still works still have a load of carts)
    2x original XBOX
    1x XBOX 360
    4x DS consoles 3 lite 1 phat
    3x PSP 1000 (A fourth is on the way)
    2 SNES
    Megadrive
    Master System II
    Gameboy color
    GameGear
    Amiga 1200
    Amiga 500
    Gamecube
    Wii
    PS3
    2 x PS2 PHATs
    PS1 (original)
    Dreamcast
    N64
    2x laptops and a tower based pc (had 3 laptops but sold an older one)

    Also emulate via MAME and M.E.S.S. (Multiple Emulator Super System)


    so yeah Dave we kinda hoard sh1t us mature gamers!
     
  12. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I think both of NES's are broke
    they wont read the carts no matter how many times you blow clean, ect... the contacts

    the genesis is sort of on its last leg
    it mostly works but the controllers and video connections are problematic

    the 2600, have no idea if it still works
    have to take it out and test

    game gear still works

    gb,gbp,gbc,gba-sp all work (sold the broken original gba back to gamestop)

    dreamcast works

    gcn still wroks

    ps2 phat (broken, DRE problem, bad laser)

    ps2 phat (the one I use now) still works fine

    wii works fine

    360 broken, no video output (ordered x-clamp fix)

    ps1 phat still works fine

    n64 still works fine

    neo geo pocket color still works fine
     
  13. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice collection mate! Mines pretty similar. Offhand I've got

    Atari 2600 (Not a woody though unfortunately, one of the newer black plastic jobs)
    NES (Toaster style)
    A famiclone in the shape of a famicom.
    A famiclone in the shape of PS1
    Master System
    Master System 2
    Megadrive
    Megadrive 2
    Scorpion (it's got sme stupid roman numeral after it that I can't remember)
    PAL SNES
    Super Famicom
    PAL Saturn MK 1
    Japanese Victor V-Saturn
    Playstation (one of the original ones with the phono connectors on the back, CD drive has gone on it though [​IMG] )
    2 x N64
    2 x Dreamcast
    Gamecube
    Xbox
    Xbox360
    GBA
    GBA SP
    DS Phat
    Gamegear
    Amiga A500+
    Atari 512STFM
    Atari 1040STFM
    Atari 800XL
    C64
    Spectrum 48
    Spectrum +2 (The one with the built in tape after Amstrad took over)
    Sinclair QL

    and I've got a bunch of those 5-in-1 joystick type things.

    If I'm ever really stuck for cash at least I'll be able to raise some! lol

    edit : Nice collection Joe! I still need to pick up another Neo Geo Pocket. I had one a few years ago but it went walkabout somewhere.
     
  14. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ooh that reminds me got a speccy a zx80 (somewhere) was a self build kit too

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    (not my images but basically the same!)

    just remembered too that also got an amstrad 464

    [​IMG]

    and a 6128

    [​IMG]

    and an atari 800xl

    [​IMG]

    and previous to that a 600xl

    [​IMG]

    crap wish i knew where that 600xl went it was awsome wrote a few good point and click type text adventure games in basic on that! ....aaaaaaaaaaah the memory's ... right back to my PS3 [​IMG]
     
  15. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,457
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Aw man. Atari 800. My first computer. Nostalgiaaaa... [​IMG]

    (Actually I still have it, somewhere. As far as I know, it still works, but I haven't tried it in years... [​IMG] )
     
  16. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    The included games suck, the screen looks like crap, and it doesn't even run at full speed. Why would anyone want this? For $10 maybe, but for $55 I could get a real GBASP.
     
  17. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The old Atari machines were underrated. They had my favourite version of BC Quest For Tires.
     
  18. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,457
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    How do you get over that second lake? [​IMG]
    You can cross the first lake by jumping and grabbing that bird that flies you over it, but the second one is just impossible... After several hundred attempts I gave up but it still bugs me [​IMG]
     
  19. Dingoo

    Newcomer Dingoo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a BBC B...

    It had some reasonable clones of then-popular arcade games.

    The best things about the beeb were Elite (the original, before it got ported to everything else) and Exile.

    After that, I got an Arc.

    Still have the BBC (with an internal MMC card mod) and Archimedes-compatible (Acorn RiscPC).
     
  20. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    i know a gba clone and the cartridges is the screen itself O.o
     

Share This Page