Games wont load ! Help :O

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Distrance, Nov 26, 2008.

Nov 26, 2008

Games wont load ! Help :O by Distrance at 4:39 PM (2,864 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Distrance
    OP

    Member Distrance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Sylvarant
    Country:
    Finland
    Well ... I installed Twilight Hack today, everything went fine. I also got one of the booters on the channels ready and all. But whenever booting ANY Burned game, I would get DVD Error ( 349 ), and the disc won't launch. I can't eject the disc ( will only eject if I boot Wii ) to try if it would start reading.

    I burned with IMGBurn with 2x Speed to Verbatim DVD+R, using BrickBlocker and also tried without. I also tried Waninkoko's IOSPatcher to change the IOS of the ISO to 249, still won't work. I'm using 3.1E, and I don't want to update it to 3.2 because I have no plans of installing Starfall. Any help ? :S
     


  2. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    install cios rev7
     
  3. thawkins1

    Member thawkins1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Try burning your games to DVD-R
     
  4. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    Try looking at the 2000 other threads people have started with this topic

    DVD+R generally dont work - error 349 is a media read error - your wii cant read the disc
     
  5. Distrance
    OP

    Member Distrance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Sylvarant
    Country:
    Finland

    Link for download ? What about the cIOS I have already on my Wii. Don't I need to uninstall that first as I think it's the newest ? ( I used the Gamma backup launcher zip )
     
  6. Distrance
    OP

    Member Distrance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Sylvarant
    Country:
    Finland

    I did, and searching through 2000 topics is pretty hard [​IMG]. Also to note, some people claim DVD+R works better on them while DVD-R does not, and others say the other way around. There's no way telling if DVD-R will work. Anyway assuming error 349 is media read error, does that mean no matter what cIOS is installed or backup launcher used, the game will *not* launch ?
     
  7. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
  8. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    i did a post on another forum about which disc's worked best for people and trust me dvd-r won by a mile.
     
  9. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    At least change the book type if you want to use dvd+r.
     
  10. Distrance
    OP

    Member Distrance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Sylvarant
    Country:
    Finland

    What ? o.o

    Sorry I'm not familiar with this stuff. Care to explain in detail ? Just that, I can get DVD+R's for so goddamnit cheap while DVD-R cost bunch... Of course, I'll go buy some DVD-R if I can't get it working on DVD+R, but I don't want to waste money if it still won't work.
     
  11. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Under ImgBurn click the book icon and look for your burner. Sometimes it not possible.

    And booktype DVD+R as DVD-ROM.
     
  12. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    the book type is in the bottom right corner on imgburn
     
  13. Distrance
    OP

    Member Distrance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Sylvarant
    Country:
    Finland

    As for that file, I already have in the Apps - cIOS Installer folder a file called '' cIOS36_rev7-Installer.dol '', isn't that the same ?

    Edit : Details on what book type to actually choose would be nice ?. What am I supposed to do there ? Will games work by the way even if I burn them with max speed ?
     
  14. Distrance
    OP

    Member Distrance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Sylvarant
    Country:
    Finland
    Well only one of the tabs worked, and it was RICOH, whatever that is. I changed the Book type to DVD-R, but it still says on IMGBurn on details at the right side ... Profile type : DVD+R.. Book Type : DVD+R
     
  15. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    use 4x speed
     
  16. Distrance
    OP

    Member Distrance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Sylvarant
    Country:
    Finland
    Doesn't help. But the idea of this is to '' change '' DVD+R into DVD-R ? If so, I might aswell go and buy one DVD-R to see what happens..
     
  17. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Change DVD+R to DVD-ROM and click on CHange.
     
  18. zerof

    Member zerof GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    United States
    Go buy some dvd-r then.
     
  19. Distrance
    OP

    Member Distrance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Sylvarant
    Country:
    Finland
    Burning atm.. Lets see what happens as soon as it's burned.

    I used that IOSPatcher for the ISO file to change the cIOS to 249 though, and I'm burning the same image at the moment to the DVD-R. Could this affect it so that it might not work ?

    And really, will games not work if I burn them with 16x speed instead of 2-4x? I don't really understand why they wouldn't.

    Edit : Regarding the problem ; I burned Pokemon Battle Revolution ( different ISO than the one I patched ), and works perfectly with DVD-R. Loading times seem slightly slower? but I can live with that. Thanks for your input people.
     
  20. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    16x burning speed works fine. 40+ backups on both dvd+r and -r no coasters whatsoever. (dvd+r booktyped to -r)
    The only real reason for a lower speed is if your computer is older, or if you are doing alot of hard drive intensive stuff at the same time as burning (for example torrents running or video playback)
     

Share This Page