Hacking Games freezes randomly using USB Loader GX. cIOS problem?

gridatttack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
475
Trophies
0
XP
257
Country
El Salvador
So I have installed the 249 d2x cIOS via the latest version of sciifii offline downloader.

I have this old 80GB HDD that formatted fine in WBFS, and USB loader gx recognizes it, but here is the problem.

When playing a game (I tested NSMBW and SSBB) They seem to freeze at randomly. I can tell that the game freezes often when loading something (I can tell when the HDD is being read), sometimes, it just freezes randomly. But there has been situations in which I can play it fine for more than 20 mins, but then after being used more, its more likely to freeze. (stability issue?)
However, I asked somewhere else, and apparently the cIOS might be the problem.

So is this freezing error is related to the hard drive disk, or its related to the cIOS version im using?
Any help would be appreciated :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: BlazeMasterBM

AngryGeek416

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
668
Trophies
0
XP
327
Country
Argentina
Install d2x v8final in 249&250 slots. Format your hardrive to fat32 forget wbfs thats such a old format. Then you can use a WBFs manager to turn wii iso into .wbfs files and put them on the FAT32 HD much easier and reliable.
 

gridatttack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
475
Trophies
0
XP
257
Country
El Salvador
Install d2x v8final in 249&250 slots. Format your hardrive to fat32 forget wbfs thats such a old format. Then you can use a WBFs manager to turn wii iso into .wbfs files and put them on the FAT32 HD much easier and reliable.

Thanks. Ill try out ^^

Still I wonder, why I cant format the whole drive to FAT32, only to exFAT. I guess its because of the big space available?
 

Conmore

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 26, 2012
Messages
57
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
109
Country
United States
Thanks. Ill try out ^^

Still I wonder, why I cant format the whole drive to FAT32, only to exFAT. I guess its because of the big space available?
No, are you using the default Windows App to do it? Because iirc, that won't work. Try using EASEUS with FAT32 and 32k clusters. NEVER FORGET THE 32K CLUSTERS. Seriously. I emphasized this on a tutorial of mine, yet a few people ignored it, and thought my tutorial was just broken. >.<
 
  • Like
Reactions: BlazeMasterBM

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,525
Country
France
Windows doesn't let you format partition in FAT32 bigger than 32GB (what sooo limited!)
But you can format them up to 2TB with other tools.

But, the problem here is not your partition. Do not convert/format your drive for nothing. you can keep WBFS.

Everyone helping here didn't ask which BASE IOS you used.
installing d2x cIOS is not the only thing to do, you need to install the correct cIOS from a lot of choices!

Freeze can happen for different reasons:
- Your HDD has a sleep timer, and you are using an old cIOS without anti-sleep HDD (this is not your case)
- Your BASE IOS is wrong. Could happen if you are using a base58, it sometime doesn't work with all games.

When you install a cIOS, you need an official IOS (called the base IOS) to which you apply patches to convert it into a custom IOS. That base IOS is important, and that's what users should always tell when they have a problem.
Telling "249" is not useful, it's what you install into the slot 249 which is important.

Do you know the base you are currently using?
If it's base58, reinstall the cIOS d2x v8 to slot 249 with base 56
You can also install cIOS d2x v10 (not alt) for Wii (not virtualWii), with base56
 
  • Like
Reactions: BlazeMasterBM

gridatttack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
475
Trophies
0
XP
257
Country
El Salvador
Try using EASEUS with FAT32 and 32k clusters. NEVER FORGET THE 32K CLUSTERS.

Thanks! Now I know which cluster to use :D

But, the problem here is not your partition. Do not convert/format your drive for nothing. you can keep WBFS.

Everyone helping here didn't ask which BASE IOS you used.
installing d2x cIOS is not the only thing to do, you need to install the correct cIOS from a lot of choices!

Freeze can happen for different reasons:
- Your HDD has a sleep timer, and you are using an old cIOS without anti-sleep HDD (this is not your case)
- Your BASE IOS is wrong. Could happen if you are using a base58, it sometime doesn't work with all games.

When you install a cIOS, you need an official IOS (called the base IOS) to which you apply patches to convert it into a custom IOS. That base IOS is important, and that's what users should always tell when they have a problem.
Telling "249" is not useful, it's what you install into the slot 249 which is important.

Do you know the base you are currently using?
If it's base58, reinstall the cIOS d2x v8 to slot 249 with base 56

Im using cIOS 249 2dx8 base 56 and 250 2dx8 base57.

Also I have to ask. I tried to make a partition of FAT32 and added in a .wbfs file in the dirve, but usbloader gx doesnt seem to list the file. Is it some settings I missed to change in usbloadergx?
 
  • Like
Reactions: BlazeMasterBM

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,525
Country
France
you need to put it in the correct folder and subfolder.
The best practice it to use WiiBackupManager, it will move it in the correct place, with the correct name.


If you already have base56, then I don't know why it's freezing.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BlazeMasterBM

gridatttack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
475
Trophies
0
XP
257
Country
El Salvador
you need to put it in the correct folder and subfolder.
The best practice it to use WiiBackupManager, it will move it in the correct place, with the correct name.


If you already have base56, then I don't know why it's freezing.

It worked. Still the game crashes.

I think its the HDD itself.
Its an old hitachi 80GB that I got for free (otherwise it would have been trashed)
I guess I would need a more recent one...

(or is it crashing because I read somewhere that to use FAT32 you need the hermes cIOS?[which I dont have])
 
  • Like
Reactions: BlazeMasterBM

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,422
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
14,525
Country
France
Hermes cIOS is one of the custom IOS compatible with FAT32
It's not the only one. (Waninkoko cIOS rev18+, and all d2x cIOS can load games from FAt32 too)

homebrew are using only one cIOS at a time. having hermes or not has nothing to do with your problem.

If you can try another HDD or even USBstick, that will tell you if the problem is your drive.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BlazeMasterBM

gridatttack

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
475
Trophies
0
XP
257
Country
El Salvador
so yeah. At the end it turned up to be the HDD themselves.
I tested NSMBW which freezed a lot before, and now in this 8GB kingston DT USB, which I used for gamecube games, it runs fine, without a single crash.
Only problem is that brawl takes so much space...
I will need to get a new HDD then.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BlazeMasterBM

Mars_Bars06

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
15
XP
13
Country
United Kingdom
My HDD has a sleep timer; which cIOS(s) do I need to install?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have the hdd sleep timer problem. Which cios do I need to install?
 
  • Like
Reactions: BlazeMasterBM

jeannotte

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
3,269
Trophies
1
Age
50
XP
2,811
Country
France
My HDD has a sleep timer; which cIOS(s) do I need to install?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have the hdd sleep timer problem. Which cios do I need to install?
Hello,

You can install two kinds of d2x CIOS version:

version 10 beta 52
OR
the final v8 version
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
use this, then post the file.
Thanks, here it is

runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).
Region: PAL
System Menu 4.3E (v514)
Priiloader installed
Drive date: 12.18.2008
Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58
Hollywood v0x21
Console Type: Wii
Shop Channel Country: United Kingdom (110)
Boot2 v4
Found 106 titles.
Found 48 IOS on this console. 16 of them are stubs.
IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS40 (rev 3072): Stub
IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
IOS52 (rev 5888): Stub
IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS62 (rev 6430): No Patches
IOS70 (rev 6912): Stub
IOS80 (rev 6944): No Patches
IOS222 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS223 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS249[56] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS250[57] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS251[58] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS254 (rev 65280): Stub
BC v6
MIOS v10
Report generated on 02/16/2021.
 
  • Like
Reactions: BlazeMasterBM
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: https://www.pcgamesn.com/gta-trilogy-definitive-edition-release-date-specs