1. Nera

    OP Nera Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Belgium
    I wondered if it will exist one day [​IMG]
    I really hope so cause it saves DVD's and decreases loading times...well let me know if this is possible
     
  2. Bladexdsl

    Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19,684
    Country:
    Australia
    nope gc didn't have or support USB
     
  3. Rainy

    Rainy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    It probably will happen eventually. oh and the gamecube games run at 3x even if they are not backups.
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19,684
    Country:
    Australia
    how can you tell the gc to detect hdd though if it's not programmed to even know their there though?
     
  5. Nera

    OP Nera Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Belgium
    uum are we talking about the same thing?
    I'm talking about a GC USB launcher on Wii(that's why i posted it in this forum...)
     
  6. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10,046
    Country:
    Belgium
    Bladexdsl only wants to say that the wii can't use all it's 'wii-hardware' in Gamecube mode
    Usb ports were not there on the gamecube, so the wii can't access them in gamecube mode
    For a GC usb loader on the wii, we'll need to find a way to fool the wii, so it would not deactivate the usb ports
     
  7. Nera

    OP Nera Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Belgium
    Oh yeah, I didn't think about that....
    In that case it'll probably take a while untill a GC USB Loader will exist, if it even will exist :s
     
  8. Screemer

    Screemer GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    i think it will be 'easier' to get gc stuff running in wii-mote than patching usb calls into mios and bc. lets say seems a long way to go for me.
     
  9. JumpMan3

    JumpMan3 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    i thought they already had gc games running in wii mode??
     
  10. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10,046
    Country:
    Belgium
    no, they run in gc mode
    even with the gc backup launcher
     
  11. ddp127

    ddp127 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    mayby it is possible with patching the mios's, but you can also run gc games of sd gecko, and that works good enough
     
  12. Lee.games

    Lee.games Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    I think getting Game Cube games running from a USB H/D will be possible because
    the Flatme chip streams GC ISO's from a pc to the Wii So an app like the USB Loader
    for gamecube should work
     
  13. Chaos Punk

    Chaos Punk GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    United States
    Trust me, it'll happen EVENTUALLY. Someone will come up with a way (probably Waninkoko) to make it happen, noone thaught it would even be possible to load Wii games from USB, and now look where we're at.
     
  14. palasx

    palasx Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    United States
    This would require EXTENSIVE ios hacking, and might not actually BE possible. The Wii SHUTS OFF (or sleep-modes) the Wii specific hardware in GC mode, including the parts of the processors that controll them. Leaving them on might not be an option, even if total software control is gained on the Wii, and no Ninty IOS is running, it might be a hardware limitation that if the Wii is in GC-Mode, those peices of hardware might not get power/signal.

    Isn't this why TeamTwiizers had to short pins on the memory controller in the first place? As always, my opinions are opinions, a few of many on a vast internet and should be taken with a mine of salt.
     
  15. roku93

    roku93 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    Finland
    Does anyone know what would happen if one would be to replace MIOS with a regular IOS and run wii software in "gamecube mode"? Wouldn't it be possible to add the ECHI driver to the MIOS? Sorry if this is sounds absolutely stupid, the MIOS is the thing I know least about Wii..
     
  16. Zidapi

    Zidapi GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,092
    Country:
    I wouldn't rule it out entirely.
    Don't forget there are Gamecubes that connect to HDDs as part the GCN Dev Hardware.
    Also, there were experiments performed in trying to connect HDDs to retail cubes during the Gamecube's lifespan. Replacing the optical drive with a HDD etc...

    The there is the SD loader functionality for Gamecube games. If you used the SD as a middleman perhaps gamecube games could be 'streamed' to the SD card and played from there, Or at worse have the SD card act like the NAND in flashcarts and have the entire game copied to SD before loading it from there.
     
  17. wiiztec

    wiiztec GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    431
    Country:
    United States
    I have 2 Wii's and I was browsing the internet with IC on one of them and playing a GC game on the other one and I found that my pointer wouldn't respond it was becuase the sensor bar was plugged into the Wii that was playing the GC game so in GC mode the Wii does not provide power to the sensor bar
     
  18. xdpirate

    xdpirate Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Norway
    Any development on this topic?
     
  19. TiMeBoMb4u2

    TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Country:
    United States
    Now, someone needs to apply this to a GC USB Loader.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. RE4zombie

    RE4zombie GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    crediar is working on one called DIOS MIOS.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Gamecube, Loader,